Koigu KPM Solid Yarn - 1170 Reviews

Koigu KPM Solid Yarn - 1170
1170 shown $14.00
Koigu Premium Merino (KPM) Solid colors are pure hand painted beauty! The beauty of hand-dyed yarns is that each hank is a unique work of art, so please be aware that there can be a variation in coloring, hue and saturation, even within the same dye batch. Each dye lot is "painted" individually and then heat is applied to fix the dyes. Dye lots are rinsed and hung on rods to dry.

Koigu has agreed to contribute a minimum of 5% of their gross profits from the sale of their Stitch Red product (1100) to the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health in support of The Heart Truth® and women's heart health education and research.

$14.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 1170)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
100% Merino Wool
US Needle:
3
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
175    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Overall KPM Solid Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 35 reviews)

Good solid yarn at a decent price 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I bought this to knit a specific project from a Vogue Knitting book. When it arrived, I thought that it was an interesting color but it didn't FEEL special in any way. I work with a lot of really nice yarns, and this one just felt average to me. It is definitely affordable and I agree with most reviewers that it is a solid choice for most knitting projects. I can't say anything bad about it, but for luxury items I will definitely be turning to other merinos such as Madelinetosh or other fibers/mixtures such as merino/alpaca or even Hand Maiden's sea silk!
By Laurie W. on Jan 06, 2015      (read Laurie W.'s 72 other reviews) 4 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Kim Robin on Oct 08, 2014      (read Kim Robin's 7 other reviews) 3 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
I love Koigu! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love all their yarns and these are beautiful too! they are easy to work up, easy to use, durable, feel good, and make exquisite projects due to their colors. I cannot buy enough of this!
By amyjodeb on Oct 08, 2014      (read amyjodeb's 12 other reviews) 5 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Koigu = yarn happiness 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love knitting with Koigu KPM and KPPPM. Both have that perfect amount of twist to make lovely stitch definition. They yarn is wonderfully consistent in thickness, lack of knots, and overall quality. Since each skein is handpainted, there can be some variance in dyes. Just plan ahead when you begin a project and enjoy that! This particular shade is absolutely stunning: a very dark charcoal grey with occasional pale grey stripes. It's really not a solid, but it certainly is lovely. Wonderful yarn!
By Kim Robin on Oct 08, 2014      (read Kim Robin's 7 other reviews) 7 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By Marsha S on Aug 20, 2014      (read Marsha S's 2 other reviews) 2 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
My favorite yarn 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I really do love this yarn and its sister yarn, KPPPM. The colors are fantastic, it rarely splits and is just a pleasure to work with. I'm not giving it a top rating because it seems that nearly all of the KPM skeins I've purchased in the last year or so contain many more undyed/white areas in them than previously was so. In any event, I love to mix these solid colors with coordinating KPPPPM to make truly unique items. And I so appreciate the wide color assortment and great service at Jimmy Beans Wool.
By Marsha S on Aug 20, 2014      (read Marsha S's 2 other reviews) 4 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Deborah Grisorio on Aug 05, 2014      (read Deborah Grisorio's 22 other reviews) 5 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By I'm busy knitting on Aug 05, 2014      (read I'm busy knitting's 2 other reviews) 5 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Gorgeous, as always. 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
The texture of the yarn is beautiful as well as the color.
By Deborah Grisorio on Aug 05, 2014      (read Deborah Grisorio's 22 other reviews) 4 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Color great 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love the colors in their solid yarns. There is just enough light in the yarn to show off all your hard work in your knitting projects.
By Becky Jo on Jun 17, 2014      (read Becky Jo's 69 other reviews) 5 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!