Rowan Kidsilk Haze Yarn - 663 - Essense Reviews

Rowan Kidsilk Haze Yarn - 663 - Essense
663 - Essense shown $14.95
A versatile mix of Super Kid Mohair and Silk which can be cleverly adapted to create a lustrous, cobweb like finish of knitted double to create a fabric with more substance. Combine 1 strand with a novelty yarn to create a soft, beaded look.

$14.95
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 663 - Essense)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5-6.25
Physical Weight:
25g
Primary Fiber:
Mohair
Secondary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
70% Super Kid Mohair, 30% Silk
US Needle:
3-8
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
229    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Wrapped
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Fuzzy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Italy
Put Up:
  Ball
Sheen:
  Medium Shine
Softness:
  Super Soft
Texture:
  AiryHairySoft Halo
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Kidsilk Haze Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 51 reviews)

Perfection 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
There is a reason this yarn has been around for as long as it has. It is wonderful! Color palette made so that beautiful pairings can be made. Fabric wears well. No yarn of this nature is going to suit us for mindless knitting days. If you invest a little extra time in getting used to it, you will be richly rewarded.
By Lbarbara on Apr 14, 2013      (read Lbarbara's 6 other reviews) 7 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
My favorite yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I have never tired of this yarn and must have knit dozens of sweaters from it. Knitting with it can be a challenge if your not used to it. It takes finding the right needle and the right light and the right gauge that works for you, but when you've got all that right the fabric it creates is beyond gorgeous. So lightweight, but warm and cozy, I wear this year round. It wears like iron, my 10 year old sweaters look great. Knit it doubled with US5 for a DK weight, oh that's heaven.
By Knitionary on Apr 06, 2013      (read Knitionary's 10 other reviews) 5 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Deliciously soft 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I have not experienced the shedding that others have mentioned in other reviews yet but even if it happens, this yarn is wonderful enough that I'm not sure I would mind. So far, I have purchased three different colors and I am in love. This is the first time I have found a mohair yarn that I enjoy knitting with so I find it's worth the price.
By Keeshil on Mar 28, 2013      (read Keeshil's 1 other review) 6 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Pretty color 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
A bit pricey but I needed the color to match with another skein -- nice texture
By knitsinamherst on Feb 06, 2013      (read knitsinamherst's 56 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By K2 tog on Dec 27, 2012      (read K2 tog's 41 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yummy 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Just finished the churchmouse bootcuffs with this yarn and just live how they turned out
By K2 tog on Dec 27, 2012      (read K2 tog's 41 other reviews) 0 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Heidi Clymer on Nov 06, 2012      (read Heidi Clymer's 29 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Scrumptious... 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I have used all kinds of mohair and I highly recommend this yarn. It is money well spent!
By Heidi Clymer on Nov 05, 2012      (read Heidi Clymer's 29 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
why, oh why did they retire this color? 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love the vibrant color and soft texture of this yarn. The only sad part is this color is discontinued.
By ElkeBeck on Oct 30, 2012      (read ElkeBeck's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Mrs. Ed on Sep 20, 2012      (read Mrs. Ed's 2 other reviews) 2 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!