Madelinetosh Tosh DK Yarn - Georgia O'Keefe Reviews

Madelinetosh Tosh DK Yarn - Georgia O'Keefe
Georgia O'Keefe shown $22.00
Note: Dyed by hand in small batches, Madelinetosh yarns do not come in dye lots. We do our best to visually match hanks for each order and will contact you via email if one or more hanks differ noticeably from the others. The beauty of hand-dyed yarns is that each hank is a unique work of art, so please be aware that there can be a variation in coloring, hue and saturation, even within the same dye batch.

If you have any questions, give us a call or check out our videos on working with hand-dyed yarns!

This Madeline Tosh yarn is a 100% superwash merino wool and is available in luscious glazed solid colorways. You get a generous 225 yards per skein and it is machine washable. This lush and soft super wash yarn is sure to make knitting a pleasure!

$22.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Georgia O'Keefe)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% superwash merino wool
US Needle:
6-7
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
225    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Eco:
  Ethically SourcedOrganic Dye
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  USA
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Tosh DK Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 129 reviews)

4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By Diana Zajic on Jul 07, 2015      (read Diana Zajic's 3 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By Leslie Bowden on Jun 10, 2015      (read Leslie Bowden's 1 other review) 4 out of 15 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Darifrii on Apr 03, 2015      (read Darifrii's 1 other review) 11 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
LOVE LOVE LOVE Tosh DK! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I do believe I have become infatuated with Madelinetosh Tosh DK. Beautiful stitch definition. Gorgeous colors! I'm having to start knitting short cowls as opposed to double loops because I want to taste so many colors! I find this yarn worth the splurge - and thank you so much to Jimmy Beans Wool for stocking such a large selection of colors!
By diaryofaknitnerd on Mar 17, 2015      (read diaryofaknitnerd's 3 other reviews) 9 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Squishy 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
This is a nice soft yarn with really pretty colors. I had to pull out some rows a few times and it still held up well.
By Joogle on Mar 05, 2015      (read Joogle's 3 other reviews) 9 out of 24 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By MaddieK on Feb 17, 2015      (read MaddieK's 23 other reviews) 11 out of 29 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
The best DK 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This is a wonderful yarn, gorgeous colors and a beautiful feel. It makes fabulous hats!
By Jane Cavolina on Feb 17, 2015      (read Jane Cavolina's 1 other review) 11 out of 23 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
My favorite 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This yarn is really awesome! I bought the color Fog..... and it is so gorgeous in person. The yarn is a dream to knit with. So soft and Grwat stitch definition. Well worth the price. This will definitely be my go to yarn for many projects. You won't be disappointed. AND an added bonus is that Jimmy Beans is awesome as well!
By Kris/Ohio on Feb 01, 2015      (read Kris/Ohio's 1 other review) 13 out of 28 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Tosh is my favorite yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love working with MadTosh yarns. The stitch definition is wonderful and the colors are AMAZING.
By oakdryad on Jan 20, 2015      (read oakdryad's 15 other reviews) 7 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great yarn for one-skein projects, with caution 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
A few months ago, I ordered two of the limited edition Tosh DK Tea Cakes, in Red Velvet Rooibos and Chai Spice. The latter was a nice brown mix with plenty of value contrast. I was tempted to return the Red Velvet Rooibos mix because I didn't like the reds together and there was minimal value contrast. However, I could separate the tea cakes into four each of red-reds, pink-reds, and orange-reds, add a unifying neutral main color, and knit three hats. I finally settled on Black Tie Affair as an alternative, which turned out to be a mainly gray mix - much lighter than I expected but OK. I like all three of the resulting three hats. All of that said: I love this yarn. It is thicker than most DKs, more a light worsted that would be absolutely perfect for sweaters IF it weren't for the variability of dyeing. It is spun with a light twist so is subject to splitting, but I didn't find that to be a major problem. The major problem with this yarn, beyond its limited use for one-skein projects, is the fact that it is a superwash yarn. I cannot imagine paying its price to make an item that won't be hand-washed, but it is getting difficult to find merino yarn that has not been treated to make it machine washable. As we all know, or should know by now, the superwash treatment increases a tendency for the yarn to lose its elasticity. This occurs over time, so an accurate gauge is impossible to get without repeated manipulation/washing of a swatch. I have learned from experience that using needles two or three sizes smaller than directed for a garment size will produce a garment that is much too small and stiff before it is washed and blocked but will relax, soften, and grow to the size desired, but it's still a crap shoot that isn't a risk with wool that must be swatched for gauge and hand-washed. Despite the limitations and caution, I rated this yarn five stars because of its marvelous texture and depth of colors.
By onmyneedles on Jan 17, 2015      (read onmyneedles's 5 other reviews) 16 out of 24 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!