Shepherd Worsted Yarn Review and Rating

View all Lorna's Laces Yarn
Overall Shepherd Worsted Yarn Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 out of 5) Write Reviews Write a review
Back to Shepherd Worsted Yarn.
     View more reviews
 Worth the price 1 of 310 
 Review by: CarolynH     (read CarolynH's 15 other reviews) May 05, 2018 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love this yarn. Used it to make a few winter caps/hats as presents for next winter. They worked up beautifullyso soft and fluffy. The only problem is that this yarn is very addictive.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Worth the price 2 of 310 
 Review by: thisisjeanett     (read thisisjeanett's 8 other reviews) Apr 07, 2018 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love this yarn. Used it to make a few winter caps/hats as presents for next winter. They worked up beautifullyso soft and fluffy. The only problem is that this yarn is very addictive.
 3 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 wonderful yarn! 3 of 310 
 Review by: Karen Bracken     (read Karen Bracken's 1 other reviews) Mar 29, 2018 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
such a wonderful yarn to work with! So soft and lovely. I crocheted a baby blanket for my granddaughter, it turned out beautiful, she is so cozy all wrapped up in it. It did take ALOT of skeins so it was expensive to do up $100 but she is my granddaughter after all.... Mom loves that it is easy wash & dry plus soft warm wool.
 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 80’s Awesomeness 4 of 310 
 Review by: thisisjeanett     (read thisisjeanett's 8 other reviews) Feb 05, 2018 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This is really nice, soft yarn. It is relatively loosely spun, so if you use crappy needles, you might have a problem with that. The colors on this base are nowhere near as vibrant and gorgeous as the same colorway on Shepherd Sock, but this is a fantastic colorway, nonetheless. My son is a big 80’s fan so this is for a hat for him.
 3 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Pretty, I made a pattern for it. 5 of 310 
 Review by: marybeshaw     (read marybeshaw's 3 other reviews) Dec 12, 2017 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I made a pattern using this yarn. It was nice to knit with it, except that at a few points it seemed a bit under-spun and split easily. https://www.instructables.com/id/Cute-Knitted-Hat-in-Diagonal-Half-Linen-Stitch/
 4 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Nice yarn! 6 of 310 
 Review by: SasZKnitter     (read SasZKnitter's 6 other reviews) Nov 29, 2017 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I absolutely love the look and feel of this yarn. I have not used yet but will update my review once I do.
 2 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Knits up beautifully, pills a bit after wear/use 7 of 310 
 Review by: Lyssaszoo     (read Lyssaszoo's 11 other reviews) Sep 19, 2017 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I agree with other reviewers, this yarn is extremely soft and squishy - great for baby items blankets, sweaters, hats, booties, especially since it's truly superwash. My only complaint is that it does begin to pill after a lot of wear/use hence 4 stars. Overall, I'd recommend for hats and scarves more than sweaters, due to the pilling.
 8 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Knits up beautifully, pills a bit after wear/use 8 of 310 
 Review by: Kerri1968     (read Kerri1968's 12 other reviews) Aug 23, 2017 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I agree with other reviewers, this yarn is extremely soft and squishy - great for baby items blankets, sweaters, hats, booties, especially since it's truly superwash. My only complaint is that it does begin to pill after a lot of wear/use hence 4 stars. Overall, I'd recommend for hats and scarves more than sweaters, due to the pilling.
 10 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Soft and squishy - love it 9 of 310 
 Review by: Lyssaszoo     (read Lyssaszoo's 11 other reviews) Jun 19, 2017 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This is my second time using this yarn, and I've already bought more. Made two baby blankets for my twin nieces, in the Frozen Upon A Time colorway. Absolutely love knitting with this yarn- it's soft and squishy, with good stitch definition and no pooling. The blankets came out super cozy as did the baby sweater/hat/booties I made before. I love this yarn!
 26 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Lovely yarn 10 of 310 
 Review by: JulieL     (read JulieL's 1 other reviews) May 18, 2017 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I was looking for a yarn that had a repeat to follow. This yarn worked perfectly. It make up a beautiful scarf.
 34 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
     View more reviews

We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!

Jimmy Beans Wool is Your Local Yarn Store... Online!