Shepherd Worsted Yarn Review and Rating

View all Lorna's Laces Yarn
Overall Shepherd Worsted Yarn Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 out of 5) Write Reviews Write a review
Back to Shepherd Worsted Yarn.
     View more reviews
 Shepherd's Worsted - Queen of Thorns 1 of 285 
 Review by: The Scarf Connection     (read The Scarf Connection's 58 other reviews) Apr 28, 2016 
 Rating: 2 out of 5 stars (2 out of 5)
I've used Lorna's Laces in the past and loved it for crocheted projects and will purchase it again for that purpose. My husband used Shepherd's Worsted colorway - Queen of Thorns to weave a shawl. The shawl turned out beautifully - light and lacy. But when we put the garment in the sink to rinse in order to block, the dye bled HORRIBLY! The rinse water looked BLACK. I would suggest that you test a small piece or swatch if you want to combine this yarn with light colors!
 2 out of 3 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Jamie's Kilt 2 of 285 
 Review by: TALeader     (read TALeader's 6 other reviews) Apr 18, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This is beautiful yarn and I just love the colorway. Being a HUGE Outlander fan, I had to get this colorway. These will become a pair of socks!
 4 out of 8 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Soft and beautiful 3 of 285 
 Review by: Hiking Gal     (read Hiking Gal's 1 other reviews) Apr 05, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I made a lacy cowl and cabled gloves with this. The color change is subtle enough that it doesn't diminish textural stitch effects. My only concern is that it bled a lot of color when I washed it. I'm glad I washed it in the sink and not with my other clothes. I'll definitely be buying more Lorna's Laces.
 8 out of 16 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Soft and beautiful 4 of 285 
 Review by: gfigwife     (read gfigwife's 14 other reviews) Mar 31, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soft, easy to work with and the color - - such a deep, rich green - - Working the Cherry Lane cowl and it is holding it's shape as hoped. If you are a big fan of green - - I'd at least give it a try - - Lorna's lace is good yarn! the pattern is from Sweet Georgia Yarns.
 56 out of 140 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Love Shepherd Worsted 5 of 285 
 Review by: Crochetnanigans     (read Crochetnanigans's 29 other reviews) Mar 28, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I made a pair of worsted weight socks using Shepherd Worsted, and they are just perfect. Soft and warm, wearing very well.
 10 out of 20 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Best yarn ever!! 6 of 285 
 Review by: Julie Paton     (read Julie Paton's 10 other reviews) Feb 08, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This is my favorite yarn for sweaters and scarves.
 25 out of 51 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Best yarn ever!! 7 of 285 
 Review by: Gorjess knits     (read Gorjess knits's 5 other reviews) Feb 04, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This is my favorite yarn for sweaters and scarves.
 24 out of 53 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Warm, soft, lovely 8 of 285 
 Review by: Gigi0605     (read Gigi0605's 1 other reviews) Jan 15, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I bought this yarn without an idea of what I was going to make out of it because I thought the color was very pretty-muted and understated.I purchased Yorkshire Skies I've never purchased this brand before because it's more than I usually spend on yarn. When it came and I opened the package, I was delighted! The yarn is incredibly soft so I knew it had to be something that I could feel, so I ended up crocheting some fingerless gloves out of it to give as a gift. I can't believe how warm they are, even though I used a slightly lacy stitch pattern. It was a dream to work with and has great stitch definition. I am looking forward to buying more of the special colorways in the future.
 45 out of 87 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Warm, soft, lovely 9 of 285 
 Review by: Joy Absalon     (read Joy Absalon's 2 other reviews) Jan 13, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I bought this yarn without an idea of what I was going to make out of it because I thought the color was very pretty-muted and understated.I purchased Yorkshire Skies I've never purchased this brand before because it's more than I usually spend on yarn. When it came and I opened the package, I was delighted! The yarn is incredibly soft so I knew it had to be something that I could feel, so I ended up crocheting some fingerless gloves out of it to give as a gift. I can't believe how warm they are, even though I used a slightly lacy stitch pattern. It was a dream to work with and has great stitch definition. I am looking forward to buying more of the special colorways in the future.
 45 out of 97 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Yummy 10 of 285 
 Review by: bellasweeney     (read bellasweeney's 3 other reviews) Jan 05, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Great feel. Very nice to work with. Beautiful colors and weight selection. A favorite.
 46 out of 98 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
     View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!