Malabrigo Silky Merino Yarn - 478 Viena Reviews

Malabrigo Silky Merino Yarn - 478 Viena
478 Viena shown $9.20
This single ply silk and merino blend is absolutely stunning. A subtle sheen gives depth to the gorgeous kettle-dyed colorways making Silky Merino the perfect choice for high fashion projects and dressy accessories.

$9.20
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 478 Viena)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
50% Baby Merino Wool, 50% Silk
US Needle:
6
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
150    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Kettle Dyed
Feel:
  Silky
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Uruguay
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Medium Shine
Softness:
  Super Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Silky Merino Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars (4.6 based on 85 reviews)

Incredibly soft 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I used Azules. The color is variegated and beautiful. True to photo. The feel and drape is amazing. I'm a new knitter, so I didn't know this feel of yarn existed. My quibble is that I've hardly used this throw and it looks like pills are starting. This is after approximately 10 hours of use. I'm concerned how it will look after some real use. Other posters, please describe the colors and whether the photo is reflective of the actual color.
By Sd native on Nov 22, 2015      (read Sd native's 3 other reviews) 5 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very nice 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I was disappointed at first, as the color I saw online was purples, blues and greens and what I received was purples, blues and pinks ew. I persevered nonetheless and was surprised that a yarn renowned for its softness did not seem very soft at all. I couldn't imagine who would want to wear the stiff little shawl I finished a week later, so I waited a few days to block it. When I finally blocked it I was AMAZED to find it is baby-soft and has glorious drape! I will buy this yarn again and again!
By podgrrrl on Nov 21, 2015      (read podgrrrl's 3 other reviews) 6 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love, love, love this yarn!!! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
So far, every type of Malabrigo yarn I have used has never disappointed me. They really have a quality product and the yarn is not only beautiful, it is a joy to knit with and have it in your hands. I purchased this same yarn in a different color before and came back to this brand and type because it was so beautiful in my finished product a cowl. It's very soft and feels wonderful on your neck and hands, and has wonderful stitch definition.
By maria2007nc on Oct 09, 2015      (read maria2007nc's 6 other reviews) 286 out of 667 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love the yarn, but.... 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
I use this yarn on the reg, but about 10% of these hanks hide a dirty secret: the knot at the beginning of the skein is sometimes actually holding together two separate lengths of yarn instead of one continuous yardage. I purchased the last one from my LYS, and another in a recent purchase from JBW and both were like this. A good excuse to buy extra, though, right?
By andweeuh on Sep 29, 2015      (read andweeuh's 9 other reviews) 4 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love this yarn! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is as it states-very silly and soft as well as affordable...
By SOPHJACKSAM on Sep 28, 2015      (read SOPHJACKSAM's 4 other reviews) 6 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Nice color 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Love my purchase. Can't wait to start my sweater.
By Jackie54 on Sep 15, 2015      (read Jackie54's 5 other reviews) 8 out of 17 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Soft, lovely DK merino yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love all of Malabrigo yarn, and the Silky Merino is no exception. Easy to knit with and such a lovely feel. Has a lot of drape, so might work best for items that don't require a lot of body. I used it for a bandanna shaped cowl. Worked beautifully.
By Alibaba on Sep 09, 2015      (read Alibaba's 4 other reviews) 7 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
major bummer...heartbroken 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
After coveting this yarn for years I means years, and planning and planning what I'd do, I finally ordered ARCHANGEL. It was 75%YELLOW!! It is absolutely NOT what it looked like in the pics--pics I mean anywhere! It's not that it's darker or lighter than what it looks like on the screen--it's that the proportions of the color yellow crazily dominates the hanks, and that is the color that I wanted the LEAST of...SO, SO, SO, SO SAD. SIGH. My favorite color in there the reason I got it was the least predominant.
By minal on Aug 31, 2015      (read minal's 1 other review) 33 out of 60 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
OMG! Wonderful Yarn! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I just love this yarn. There isn't enough I can say about it without going on and on. The stitch definition is awesome, feels great, knits up great and feels wonderful around your neck! This yarn will not disappoint you.
By maria2007nc on Aug 24, 2015      (read maria2007nc's 6 other reviews) 9 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By luvdot on Jul 18, 2015      (read luvdot's 18 other reviews) 6 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!