Spud & Chloe Fine Yarn - 7814 Shitake Reviews

Spud & Chloe Fine Yarn - 7814 Shitake
7814 Shitake shown $15.50
Not just for socks -- this Spud and Chloe sock weight yarn is perfect for Fair Isle and detailed work. It's machine-washable, so it's great for itty-bitty baby knits, too!

$15.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 7814 Shitake)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7-8
Physical Weight:
65g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Wool  (view more)
Secondary Fiber:
Silk  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
80% Superwash Wool, 20% Silk
US Needle:
1-3
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
248    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Fine Rating: 4.7 out of 5 (4.7 based on 22 reviews)
Great for shawls! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I have used this yarn for a number of small shawls, and love it. Good stitch definition, great colors, nice hand.
By Cynthia K on Dec 13, 2011      (read Cynthia K's 3 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
lovely 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This is beautiful yarn. I love working with it and it knits up lovely.
By mimi80442 on Dec 12, 2011      (read mimi80442's 26 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Very sturdy serious sock yarn 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Nice yarn. Wears VERY. Finished items are soft, but it's a little rough and hard on the hands to knit with. Color did not bleed at all and yarn was tightly twisted so no issues with splitting or snagging after the fact.
By Nharres on Dec 05, 2011      (read Nharres's 4 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
a happy user, pete and repeat customer 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I knit this at 8sts/inch for baby booties: "Duck" @Knitty.com. I used about 1/2 a skein each of Bumble Bee and Dolphin; there were NO knots or other flaws in either skein. Out of JBY's sock yarns on display with not-boring gold and blue colors, I chose this one because of the quality--the silk component helps out with the washability for modern moms, and it is relatively tightly spun and plied. No problems with splitting here. Booties wash up easily and still look new.
By duckers on Sep 18, 2011      (read duckers's 1 other review) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By AnOutlier on Aug 02, 2011      (read AnOutlier's 7 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Shitake is AWESOME - Popcorn is lousy 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
I bought two colors of this yarn for a project requiring colorwork. The Shitake knitted up beautifully, but the Popcorn was awful! It has absolutely no stitch definition and it's like it's a totally different yarn than the Shitake color. I knit very true to gauge, yet when I knit with the Popcorn yarn it looks extremely loose and uneven.
By Susan F. on Jun 21, 2011      (read Susan F.'s 3 other reviews) 3 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Spud and Chloe fan 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love all the Spud and Chloe yarns but had not made anything with fine. Hope to make socks. Love the feel and look of this yarn.
By mimi80442 on Jun 03, 2011      (read mimi80442's 26 other reviews) 0 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
you knit once with this you will want again and again, very vibrant colors, love the silk
By go marilyn on Feb 23, 2011      (read go marilyn's 157 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
vibrant colors 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn to use as the contrast on a baby sweater. It handles easily but tends to split a little. Texture is smooth and the twist is moderate, not tightly twisted like the sock yarns this size. The color is beautiful, vibrant and saturated. I will definitely use this again.
By ewoodsb on Oct 01, 2010      (read ewoodsb's 10 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
so pretty, so lovely to work with! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
At first I thought this yarn didn't feel soft enough, but it worked up beautifully and really softened up in the finished product. And it sparkles! So nice to work with.
By Flossie on Jun 21, 2010      (read Flossie's 13 other reviews) 3 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!