Spud & Chloe Fine Yarn - 7801 Glow Worm Reviews

Spud & Chloe Fine Yarn - 7801 Glow Worm
7801 Glow Worm shown $15.50
Not just for socks -- this Spud and Chloe sock weight yarn is perfect for Fair Isle and detailed work. It's machine-washable, so it's great for itty-bitty baby knits, too!

$15.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 7801 Glow Worm)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7-8
Physical Weight:
65g
Primary Fiber:
Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
80% Superwash Wool, 20% Silk
US Needle:
1-3
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
248    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Crisp
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  High Energy
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Fine Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars (4.7 based on 25 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Legalknitter on Jun 12, 2012      (read Legalknitter's 31 other reviews) 7 out of 19 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lovely! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is just lovely. The silk gives it a nice drape, and it knits very evenly. Perfect for all of those pretty sweaters that are knit with sock yarn at a bigger gauge than normal.
By Legalknitter on Jun 12, 2012      (read Legalknitter's 31 other reviews) 13 out of 23 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Honda on May 07, 2012      (read Honda's 10 other reviews) 3 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great for shawls! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I have used this yarn for a number of small shawls, and love it. Good stitch definition, great colors, nice hand.
By Cynthia K on Dec 13, 2011      (read Cynthia K's 3 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
lovely 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This is beautiful yarn. I love working with it and it knits up lovely.
By mimi80442 on Dec 12, 2011      (read mimi80442's 26 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very sturdy serious sock yarn 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
Nice yarn. Wears VERY. Finished items are soft, but it's a little rough and hard on the hands to knit with. Color did not bleed at all and yarn was tightly twisted so no issues with splitting or snagging after the fact.
By Nharres on Dec 05, 2011      (read Nharres's 4 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
a happy user, pete and repeat customer 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I knit this at 8sts/inch for baby booties: "Duck" @Knitty.com. I used about 1/2 a skein each of Bumble Bee and Dolphin; there were NO knots or other flaws in either skein. Out of JBY's sock yarns on display with not-boring gold and blue colors, I chose this one because of the quality--the silk component helps out with the washability for modern moms, and it is relatively tightly spun and plied. No problems with splitting here. Booties wash up easily and still look new.
By duckers on Sep 18, 2011      (read duckers's 1 other review) 3 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By AnOutlier on Aug 02, 2011      (read AnOutlier's 7 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Shitake is AWESOME - Popcorn is lousy 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
I bought two colors of this yarn for a project requiring colorwork. The Shitake knitted up beautifully, but the Popcorn was awful! It has absolutely no stitch definition and it's like it's a totally different yarn than the Shitake color. I knit very true to gauge, yet when I knit with the Popcorn yarn it looks extremely loose and uneven.
By Susan F. on Jun 21, 2011      (read Susan F.'s 3 other reviews) 4 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Spud and Chloe fan 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love all the Spud and Chloe yarns but had not made anything with fine. Hope to make socks. Love the feel and look of this yarn.
By mimi80442 on Jun 03, 2011      (read mimi80442's 26 other reviews) 0 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!