account | search | cart view cartWool Watcher - Follow Me to Huge Savings Jimmy Beans Bucks Rewards 5% Back Live Chat is Offline
FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $4 U.S. ship on ALL others.
Navigate JBW
Navigate JBW - bottom
More Rowan products
More Rowan products

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

Related Kits
Related Kits - bottom

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

More Projects from our Shop
More Projects from our Shop - bottom

Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn - 159 - Carbon Reviews

Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn - 159 - Carbon
159 - Carbon shown $12.50

Product Information (for 159 - Carbon)

Gauge (sts. / inch): 5.5 Physical Weight: 50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber: Merino Wool  (view more) Secondary Fiber: Alpaca  (view more)
Specific Fiber: 50% Merino Wool, 25% Alpaca, 25% Viscose/Rayon US Needle: 5
Washing Instructions: Machine Wash  (view more) Weight: DK (21-24 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage: 190    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Quantity:
Add to Cart  Add this product to your own personal wish list!  Notify me when additional quantities are available  Questions about quantities available?
 
Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn Colors Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn Description Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn Reviews Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn Video Reviews Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn Suggested Patterns
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Felted Tweed Rating: 4.7 out of 5 (4.7 based on 31 reviews)
 View previous reviews   View more reviews
 Felted Tweed 21 of 31 
 Review by: Judeth     (read Judeth's 6 other reviews) Dec 28, 2010 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I didn't give five stars because I haven't actually knit with this yarn yet. It is for a future project, but the feel and texture is nice and the colors are great.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  22 of 31 
 Review by: jh1023     (read jh1023's 12 other reviews) Sep 13, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  23 of 31 
 Review by: julieandcompany     (read julieandcompany's 3 other reviews) Aug 24, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  24 of 31 
 Review by: Mimi Ophir     (read Mimi Ophir's 13 other reviews) Jun 29, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 great depth of color 25 of 31 
 Review by: linda cassidy     (read linda cassidy's 4 other reviews) Apr 26, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Rowan tweeds even if a bit itchy while knitting have excellent traditional, but not dated color choices.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 So soft! 26 of 31 
 Review by: geniec     (read geniec's 2 other reviews) Feb 24, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I just love this yarn. It is very lightweight yet very warm. It has a little halo due to the alpaca content, which makes it look luxurious, which it truly is.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Love this yarn! 27 of 31 
 Review by: StaceyKnitsIt     (read StaceyKnitsIt's 7 other reviews) Jan 28, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love Rowan Felted Tweed and all the beautiful colors that are available. This is one of my favorite yarns to knit with.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Beautiful yarn 28 of 31 
 Review by: KKnitter     (read KKnitter's 1 other review) Feb 20, 2008 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

Just finished the "Gathered Pullover" from Interweave Knits. I love the feel (softer than you'd think) and the drape. The color flecks are subtle in the green that I used (gray, white and even periwinkle....so pretty). I'll definitely use this again if I can....probably for the tangled yoke cardigan/henley.

 

 

 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Rowan Felted Tweed is tops 29 of 31 
 Review by: always knittin'     (read always knittin''s 1 other review) Jan 22, 2007 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

I'm a very picky and experienced knitter and I think Rowan Felted Tweed is a dream to knit.  It's even softer to knit than it feels on the ball and is very well behaved. It glides through my fingers giving me the most beautifully consistent stitches imaginable. If you're thinking of cables or lacework the stitch definition is very good.

After knitting my swatch I laundered it the way I plan to care for my sweater and it washed and dried in exactly the same guage it was knit. That's not always true and I appreciate that I wouldn't have to make pattern changes due to post-laundering stretching or shrinking.

My only complaint about this yarn is that so many of the colors have flecks of a color I don't like (I did say I'm really picky didn't I?) Oranges, yellows and browns aren't colors I wear well and they are in many of the color choices. But that's a personal quibble and won't be of any interest to most knitters.

After beginning a cardigan for myself my husband liked the yarn so much I bought some in another color for a pullover for him. The only reason I can imagine everyone wouldn't love this yarn is if the guage, 22 st =4", is smaller than they like. But for a lighter weight indoor sweater or for a warmer climate this is a great weight and a delight to knit.

PS I've received many positive comments just knitting the back of the cardigan. Everyone loves the look and feel of the yarn knitted up.

 8 out of 8 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Infatuation 30 of 31 
 Review by: Dannette     (read Dannette's 1 other review) Nov 22, 2006 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

I have a project that requires 30 skeins of this yarn. Before making that kind of investment, I knew I'd have to love the yarn, considering that I'd be spending weeks, if not months, intimately interacting with it. So, I ordered a couple of colors and took it out on a first date.

It reminded me of my husband. We went out on our first date, and 20 years later never looked back.

I'm picky about yarn. It has to feel really good in my hands (clearly I'm not a flax fan). It has to behave nicely on my needles, bamboo and metal. No reticence, no arguing, I want cooperation. It has to hang around long enough to be rescued if I drop a stitch.

Rowan Felted Tweed passed every test. I can't stop swatching the thing, because my fingers (and brain) suffer from separation anxiety when I put the needles down. The material produced is lovely and soft, but with nice body.

I have many unfinished projects on needles, and at this point in time, they are going to have to stay unfinished a while longer. I have a new love.

And, as an added bonus, the folks at Jimmy Beans Wool are wonderful to work with!

 4 out of 4 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 
 View previous reviews   View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for your projects including yarn, fabric, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!