Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn - z155 - Pickle - Discontinued Reviews

Rowan Felted Tweed Yarn - z155 - Pickle - Discontinued
z155 - Pickle - Discontinued shown
Sorry, but specific product you requested is not currently available. Hopefully you can find another option below.
Rowan Felted Tweed offers an exciting alternative to the traditional dk weights.  Read the full description...

$12.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for z155 - Pickle - Discontinued)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5
Physical Weight:
50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool  (view more)
Secondary Fiber:
Alpaca  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
50% Merino Wool, 25% Alpaca, 25% Viscose/Rayon
US Needle:
5
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash  (view more)
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
190    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Felted Tweed Rating: 4.7 out of 5 (4.7 based on 31 reviews)
Felted Tweed 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I didn't give five stars because I haven't actually knit with this yarn yet. It is for a future project, but the feel and texture is nice and the colors are great.
By Judeth on Dec 28, 2010      (read Judeth's 6 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By jh1023 on Sep 13, 2010      (read jh1023's 12 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By julieandcompany on Aug 24, 2010      (read julieandcompany's 3 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Mimi Ophir on Jun 29, 2010      (read Mimi Ophir's 13 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
great depth of color 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Rowan tweeds even if a bit itchy while knitting have excellent traditional, but not dated color choices.
By linda cassidy on Apr 26, 2010      (read linda cassidy's 4 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
So soft! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I just love this yarn. It is very lightweight yet very warm. It has a little halo due to the alpaca content, which makes it look luxurious, which it truly is.
By geniec on Feb 24, 2010      (read geniec's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Love this yarn! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love Rowan Felted Tweed and all the beautiful colors that are available. This is one of my favorite yarns to knit with.
By StaceyKnitsIt on Jan 28, 2010      (read StaceyKnitsIt's 7 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Beautiful yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

Just finished the "Gathered Pullover" from Interweave Knits. I love the feel (softer than you'd think) and the drape. The color flecks are subtle in the green that I used (gray, white and even periwinkle....so pretty). I'll definitely use this again if I can....probably for the tangled yoke cardigan/henley.

 

 

By KKnitter on Feb 20, 2008      (read KKnitter's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Rowan Felted Tweed is tops 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

I'm a very picky and experienced knitter and I think Rowan Felted Tweed is a dream to knit.  It's even softer to knit than it feels on the ball and is very well behaved. It glides through my fingers giving me the most beautifully consistent stitches imaginable. If you're thinking of cables or lacework the stitch definition is very good.

After knitting my swatch I laundered it the way I plan to care for my sweater and it washed and dried in exactly the same guage it was knit. That's not always true and I appreciate that I wouldn't have to make pattern changes due to post-laundering stretching or shrinking.

My only complaint about this yarn is that so many of the colors have flecks of a color I don't like (I did say I'm really picky didn't I?) Oranges, yellows and browns aren't colors I wear well and they are in many of the color choices. But that's a personal quibble and won't be of any interest to most knitters.

After beginning a cardigan for myself my husband liked the yarn so much I bought some in another color for a pullover for him. The only reason I can imagine everyone wouldn't love this yarn is if the guage, 22 st =4", is smaller than they like. But for a lighter weight indoor sweater or for a warmer climate this is a great weight and a delight to knit.

PS I've received many positive comments just knitting the back of the cardigan. Everyone loves the look and feel of the yarn knitted up.

By always knittin' on Jan 22, 2007      (read always knittin''s 1 other review) 8 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Infatuation 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

I have a project that requires 30 skeins of this yarn. Before making that kind of investment, I knew I'd have to love the yarn, considering that I'd be spending weeks, if not months, intimately interacting with it. So, I ordered a couple of colors and took it out on a first date.

It reminded me of my husband. We went out on our first date, and 20 years later never looked back.

I'm picky about yarn. It has to feel really good in my hands (clearly I'm not a flax fan). It has to behave nicely on my needles, bamboo and metal. No reticence, no arguing, I want cooperation. It has to hang around long enough to be rescued if I drop a stitch.

Rowan Felted Tweed passed every test. I can't stop swatching the thing, because my fingers (and brain) suffer from separation anxiety when I put the needles down. The material produced is lovely and soft, but with nice body.

I have many unfinished projects on needles, and at this point in time, they are going to have to stay unfinished a while longer. I have a new love.

And, as an added bonus, the folks at Jimmy Beans Wool are wonderful to work with!

By Dannette on Nov 22, 2006      (read Dannette's 1 other review) 4 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!