account | search | cart view cartWool Watcher - Follow Me to Huge Savings Jimmy Beans Bucks Rewards 5% Back Live Chat is Online
FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $4 U.S. ship on ALL others.
Navigate JBW
Navigate JBW - bottom
More Rowan products
More Rowan products

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

Related Kits
Related Kits - bottom

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

More Projects from our Shop
More Projects from our Shop - bottom

Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn - 954 Steel Grey Suffolk Reviews

Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn - 954 Steel Grey Suffolk
954 Steel Grey Suffolk shown $15.95

Product Information (for 954 Steel Grey Suffolk)

Gauge (sts. / inch): 3.25 Physical Weight: 100g  (view more)
Primary Fiber: Wool  (view more) Specific Fiber: 100% Wool
US Needle: US 10.5-11 Washing Instructions: Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight: Bulky (12-15 sts/4 in)  (view more) Yardage: 120    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Quantity:
Add to Cart  Add this product to your own personal wish list!  Notify me when additional quantities are available  Questions about quantities available?
 
Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn Colors Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn Description Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn Reviews Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn Video Reviews Rowan British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Yarn Suggested Patterns
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall British Sheep Breeds Chunky Undyed Rating: 5 out of 5 (5.0 based on 13 reviews)
    View more reviews
  1 of 13 
 Review by: HerMom     (read HerMom's 6 other reviews) Dec 28, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Love this yarn! 2 of 13 
 Review by: HerMom     (read HerMom's 6 other reviews) Dec 28, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Love the yarn and love Jimmy Beans.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 beautiful and substantial 3 of 13 
 Review by: dragon     (read dragon's 28 other reviews) Nov 30, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
this wool is really lovely and easy to work with. It is quite thick and heavy, also very springy and cozy. I have enjoyed workinh with it, and I will be back for more
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 the great yarn! 4 of 13 
 Review by: sharon pandabear     (read sharon pandabear's 79 other reviews) Jul 30, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I bought this yarn and am knitting a felted market bag.. This stuff is absolutely amazing! It feels so great just like the sheep themselves! I can not wait to knit something else from it!
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Blue-faced Leicester yarn is delicious! 5 of 13 
 Review by: Pame     (read Pame's 1 other review) May 02, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
The Rowan Purelife yarn from Blue-faced Leicester sheep is fabulous--it feels more like merino. A joy to knit with. Other reviewers complained of a sheepy smell but my skeins are virtually free of odor.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  6 of 13 
 Review by: Rhiannon     (read Rhiannon's 2 other reviews) Feb 15, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  7 of 13 
 Review by: mountainchickadee     (read mountainchickadee's 1 other review) Jan 28, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Jacket is Gorgeous 8 of 13 
 Review by: Ridley     (read Ridley's 43 other reviews) Jan 15, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I picked up my jacket today at my yarn store; there were several people there and they all loved it. It is so soft and "cuddly" I highly recommend this yarn. I saw one review that stated that the Jacob color of this yarn was not soft. I would really like to make this coat/jacket again in one of the other colors and hope someone else writes about other colors and how they feel.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Wonderful Yarn 9 of 13 
 Review by: Ridley     (read Ridley's 43 other reviews) Jan 14, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I knitted the Jacket shown in the book Amber instead of using the Cashsoft chunky I used the Purelife. I made the coat/jacket using #950. It was one of the best to knit with yarns I have ever used.The more I worked with it the softer it got! My LYS blocked and put it all together for me. I got sick and haven't been able to go pick it up; however Jennifer said it is so soft she would like to sleep in it! I want to make another jacket out of this yarn, but would like to know if any of you did anything with cables in the darker shades and how they showed up?? email me at mimim@hargray.com
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Wonderful, Rustic and Rich Looking 10 of 13 
 Review by: Diane from PA     (read Diane from PA's 82 other reviews) Dec 09, 2009 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I used this yarn in the Jacob color (from the Jacob sheep). It is rougher or I should say more rustic feel than the BFL (compared to the BFL) BUT I really like it a lot. Knits up beautifully. Had to rip out several rows (wasn't paying attention) without any problems at all. Shows off stitch patterns very nicely. Has a really nice feel to it. I found a pattern on Ravelry designed using this yarn. It's a unisex pattern "Hill Country Hat" (London Beanie style with a subtle pattern). I was able to knit this up in 2 evenings after work with time to spare. I have also knit the DK version of this yarn (fingerless mitts) with the same wonderful results. They both show off cables and other patterns in the knitting beautifully. I can't say enough about how my finished projects have turned out. The Jacob color really has a rich look to it. You can't beat the price either. I will say that if you plan to wear what you are knitting against your skin - go with the BFL colors but for a hat, cold weather scarf or sweater - any of the other breeds would be great. I plan to knit something in colorwork with this yarn. Won't have to worry about colors bleeding as these are natural wool colors. Will definitely purchase more in the future.
 6 out of 34 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 
    View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for your projects including yarn, fabric, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!