Noro Taiyo Sock Yarn Reviews

The sock weight cousin of Noro's popular Taiyo yarn, Taiyo Sock is a lightweight cotton blend perfect for artistic socks, shawls and tops! The stunning self-striping hand dyed colorways create a one-of-a-kind fabric and the soft cotton, wool and silk fiber is a sumptuous treat to work with and wear!

$19.95
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 59)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7.5
Physical Weight:
100g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Cotton  (view more)
Secondary Fiber:
Wool  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
50% Cotton, 17% Wool, 17% Nylon, 16% Silk
US Needle:
2
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
462    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Taiyo Sock Rating: 4.3 out of 5 (4.3 based on 10 reviews)
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By PeggyC on May 28, 2014      (read PeggyC's 3 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Marla Cornett on Apr 04, 2014      (read Marla Cornett's 7 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
So Diasappointed! 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
I have used Taiyo sock yarn often in the past, but this order was very disappointing. While I am used to inconsistencies with Noro, this time I ordered three skeins of 03, and two really are so inconsistent, and so thread thin so often, it is almost impossible to work with - Not only am I using a smaller hook than I have used previously with sock yarn,I have had to restart/cut off much of the yarn. Frustrating to say the least. I will say 1 skein looks good and works like I am used to. I have never ordered on-line before. I will say Jimmy Beans sent it promptly, so that was fine. I just may have to part ways with Noro, which I have loved in the past. This batch though was really, really bad......
By ktdid on Feb 08, 2014      (read ktdid's 1 other review) 6 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Lovely! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I'm a huge fan of Noro, but this was my first experience with one of their lace-weight yarns. Wow - huge fan! As with all Noro, you have to embrace the slubs and variation in thickness. I happen to love that quality in a yarn. I used this for a Spring shawl, and the yarn gives off a great organic earthy vibe. Love it!
By Annajane1485 on Jan 27, 2014      (read Annajane1485's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
in my stash! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
saving this for myself, have an idea on how I want to work with it, love the Noro line for the creativity they inspire
By 1stKentruth on Nov 02, 2013      (read 1stKentruth's 10 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Pretty and Fun 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Like the weight...easy to knit with....am knitting a sweater
By skarabians on Jun 26, 2013      (read skarabians's 16 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By R.N. on Oct 03, 2012      (read R.N.'s 41 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By SherriLynne on Jun 11, 2012      (read SherriLynne's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
The fibers and colors are beautiful, however there were inconsistencies in thickness, with some stretches of up to worsted weight in this otherwise sock weight yarn. I don't know that the single ply of this yarn would stand up to much wear as actual socks, but it's soft enough to wear next to the skin in places like the neck and head.
By spryngsnowstorm on Apr 10, 2012      (read spryngsnowstorm's 3 other reviews) 3 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Noro is one of my favorites
By Retamaria on Aug 10, 2011      (read Retamaria's 28 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!