account | search | cart view cartWool Watcher - Follow Me to Huge Savings Jimmy Beans Bucks Rewards 5% Back Live Chat is Offline
FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $4 U.S. ship on ALL others.
Navigate JBW
Navigate JBW - bottom
More Manos Del Uruguay products
More Manos Del Uruguay products

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

Related Kits
Related Kits - bottom

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

More Projects from our Shop
More Projects from our Shop - bottom

Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn - 52 Cameo Reviews

Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn - 52 Cameo
52 Cameo shown $17.50

Product Information (for 52 Cameo)

Gauge (sts. / inch): 4 Physical Weight: 100g  (view more)
Primary Fiber: 100% Wool  (view more) Specific Fiber: 100% Wool
US Needle: 9 Washing Instructions: Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight: Heavy Worsted/Aran (16-18 sts/4 in)  (view more) Yardage: 138    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Quantity:
Add to Cart  Add this product to your own personal wish list!  Notify me when additional quantities are available  Questions about quantities available?
 
Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn Colors Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn Description Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn Reviews Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn Video Reviews Manos Del Uruguay Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Yarn Suggested Patterns
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Wool Clasica Semi-Solids Rating: 4.4 out of 5 (4.4 based on 10 reviews)
    View more reviews
 Good as far as it goes 1 of 10 
 Review by: Bluestocking     (read Bluestocking's 1 other review) Apr 03, 2013 
 Rating: 2 out of 5 (2 out of 5)
I bought 2 skeins of this yarn to make the Good Dame Eve's Cap from the July/Aug 2012 Piecework magazine. It was very pleasant to knit with, but the recommended 2 skeins was not enough to finish the hat. I bought another skein, blaming the pattern until I weighed the third skein and found that it was not 100g as labeled, but 91g, a considerable shortage. By my calculations the first two skeins weighed an average of 83.5g. The yarn felted into a thick, moderately firm fabric. The color I used A - Midnight Blue was very rich, although there was a noticeable color difference between the first two skeins as might be expected from kettle-dyed yarn. It did not bleed at all. There is some variation in the thickness throughout the skein, but not alarmingly so. This is a very nice yarn, but I am rating it only 2 stars for the low yardage. For that much money per skein, you should get all 100g.
 3 out of 3 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  2 of 10 
 Review by: Nesbo2     (read Nesbo2's 12 other reviews) Oct 10, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  3 of 10 
 Review by: pixiewear     (read pixiewear's 23 other reviews) Dec 04, 2011 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  4 of 10 
 Review by: pixiewear     (read pixiewear's 23 other reviews) Aug 16, 2011 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  5 of 10 
 Review by: Stephanie Freudenthal     (read Stephanie Freudenthal's 1 other review) Nov 23, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Bright and bulky. 6 of 10 
 Review by: graymon     (read graymon's 1 other review) Jun 28, 2010 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
The colorways are incredibly bright and strong from Manos Del Uruguay. Used several skeins to make a pair of granny square slippers. Three skeins will make two pair easily. Free pattern here: http://www.purlbee.com/granny-square-slippers/
 2 out of 2 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 I love this yarn!! 7 of 10 
 Review by: Jeanne Fiber Freak     (read Jeanne Fiber Freak's 229 other reviews) May 24, 2010 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 very light and soft 8 of 10 
 Review by: matihm     (read matihm's 1 other review) Mar 11, 2010 
 Rating: 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
I was impressed with the beautiful softness and lightness of the wool. The color itself is very nice, but very different from the color on the screen, much darker. Also I expected to see some striation in it. I do not see ANY, none. That was disappointing. It is still a very nice wool. I just will use it for a different project than I had planned
 2 out of 2 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Felts great 9 of 10 
 Review by: Connie Morell     (read Connie Morell's 3 other reviews) Oct 14, 2009 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
It's a great semi-solid wool yarn, knits up beautifully into sweaters, vests, and any felting project you desire.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Awesome!!! 10 of 10 
 Review by: EyeDoc     (read EyeDoc's 1 other review) Sep 09, 2007 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)

This is an awesome yarn!  This is my first time to work with "real"  handspun yarn (varying gauge) and that took some time to get used to.  However, even though the gauge gets quite fine in places, it doesn't feel at all like it may break.  I am currently using this yarn for a "knit-along" project for <A href="http://www.menwhoknit.com">www.menwhoknit.com</A>! 

I highly recommend this yarn!!

 

 1 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 
    View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for your projects including yarn, fabric, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!