Manos Del Uruguay Silk Blend Yarn Reviews

Manos Silk Blend is a luxurious blend of merino and silk. Hand dyed in large kettles to create a marbleized, subtly striated effect that forms a rich palette of glorious colors. No two skeins are exactly alike and there are no dye lots.

Manos yarn is hand dyed and hand wound by cooperatives in Uraguay. As with all hand dyed yarn, there can be variation in hue, even within the same dye batch. Please be aware that the basic winding technique used by the co-ops can result in up to a 2 gram variation in 50g hanks.

The Manos Cooperatives are a part of the World Fair Trade Organization and every hank of Manos yarn you purchase helps a woman in Uraguay support her family!

$14.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 300X Topaz)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5-6
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
70% Merino, 30% Silk
US Needle:
4-6
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
150    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Eco:
  Co-opEthically SourcedFair Trade
Feel:
  Silky
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Uruguay
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Soft Shine
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Silk Blend Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 based on 32 reviews)

1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
By HeidiOshin on Dec 08, 2010      (read HeidiOshin's 1 other review) 1 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Brief review 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I've only just started my project but so far I am really enjoying knitting with this yarn. It feels good to my hand and I love the color and stitch definition.
By Sumi on Nov 22, 2010      (read Sumi's 6 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
yummy soft yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I bought this yarn to knit a cowl for a friend. It was a great kelly green color and it draped nicely once I was done knitting it. Loved knitting with it!
By Merissa on Nov 13, 2010      (read Merissa's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
By Kerry Steinmann on Jun 15, 2010      (read Kerry Steinmann's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By moominsummer on Jun 14, 2010      (read moominsummer's 3 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
A Treat for the Senses and the Cents 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By greenfieldlady on Jun 04, 2010      (read greenfieldlady's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Terrific Sheen and Colors 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love how soft and silky this yarn is - and how it doesn't seem to fall apart when knitting.
By lauraneitzel on Apr 23, 2010      (read lauraneitzel's 113 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Soft, silky, and beautiful! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I really like knitting with this yarn. It feels nice in the hands and is forgiving to frogging...not too sticky. It has nice drape and nice subtle color changes.
By mlane on Feb 26, 2010      (read mlane's 14 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
This yarn is wonderful 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I have now made three sweaters with this and I will be starting a fourth shortly. I have used both the multi- and the single color yarn. The hand is lovely-- almost like knitting with air. The drape is lovely and the colors are marvelous. The only thing I would watch for is the possibility that the colors will pool as you use the multi- or the whitish areas will pool as you use the single color. I have another ball wound at all times. When I see the color pooling, I use two rows with one ball and two from the second and it usually works out. But this is wonderful yarn.
By norsknitter on Dec 30, 2009      (read norsknitter's 11 other reviews) 3 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Elegance Personified 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn feels as elegant as it looks, and works up easily, shows stitches to their best advantage. Blends beautifully with the multis in the shawl I'm working on.
By Susan T. on Dec 29, 2009      (read Susan T.'s 5 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!