Manos Del Uruguay Maxima Multi Yarn - M8881 - Beehive Reviews

Manos Del Uruguay Maxima Multi Yarn - M8881 - Beehive
M8881 - Beehive shown $15.00
Maxima is a super soft and squishy kettle-dyed yarn. The worsted weight one-ply construction makes it a great all purpose yarn, and the fantastic yardage makes it perfect for 1 skein accessory projects. Fun, bright, intense colors will make your hand made item stand out from the crowd!

Manos yarn is hand dyed and hand wound by cooperatives in Uruguay. As with all hand dyed yarn, there can be variation in hue, even within the same dye batch. Please be aware that the basic winding technique used by the co-ops can result in up to a 4 gram variation in 100g hanks.

Manos Cooperatives are a part of the World Fair Trade Organization and every hank of Manos yarn you purchase helps a woman in Uruguay support her family!

$15.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for M8881 - Beehive)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Extrafine Merino Wool
US Needle:
6-8
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
219    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Behavior:
  Felts
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Kettle Dyed
Eco:
  Co-opEthically SourcedFair Trade
Feel:
  Buttery
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Uruguay
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Maxima Multi Rating: 4.6 out of 5 (4.6 based on 13 reviews)

MANOS 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
KNITS BEAUTIFULLY HAS A NICE HAND AND THE COLOR PALLETS ARE WONDERFUL!
By Kim Clarke on Jan 27, 2015      (read Kim Clarke's 12 other reviews) 1 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By chopperdiva on Jan 27, 2015      (read chopperdiva's 1 other review) 4 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Sarah Knits on Jan 29, 2014      (read Sarah Knits's 2 other reviews) 3 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very soft! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I used this yarn to make 2 hats last year and I just had to order again, because it is so easy to work with. Love this colorway!
By Tracey B on Dec 10, 2013      (read Tracey B's 12 other reviews) 3 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Gorgeous yarn! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Manos Del Uruguay's yarns are all rich in colors and luxurious to feel. Maxima is no different. It has a very soft hand and great stitch definition. It is by far my favorite worsted weight yarn. I have purchased it many times and will continue to purchase it for my worsted weight projects. No matter where I have purchased Maxima be it online or in my LYS it always has 218 yards. Give it a try! You won't be disappointed.
By Isabella Marie on Sep 08, 2012      (read Isabella Marie's 1 other review) 8 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Nice 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I'm not usually a fan of thick single ply yarns, but the color of the Maxima really attracted me. It works really well in textured stitches.
By PinotNoir on Jun 25, 2012      (read PinotNoir's 11 other reviews) 5 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Pictures do it no justice! :D 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Just recieved my order, my first ever from JBW. Very fast shipping! As I said in my subject, the pictures do it no justice! The mojave colorway is absolutely stunning, and the soft, lofty plushness of the yarn is heavenly, perfect for a cozy fall/winter knit. I purchased this yarn as a "thank you" gift for a friend, and now I'm jealous - I'm ording some for myself! Thank you, JBW! You have a very hapy (and repeat) customer!
By ThreeNeedles on Sep 22, 2011      (read ThreeNeedles's 1 other review) 2 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yardage is 218 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
According to the Fairmount Fibers the distributor of Manos yarn Maxima has 218 yards. Are you sure you are talking about the same yarn??
By Ridley on May 26, 2011      (read Ridley's 43 other reviews) 2 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
re: yardage 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
And I wanted to note, my yarn does say on the tag '219 yards'. I haven't measured it to be sure, but it's the same amount stated here by JBW.
By IAHawkKnit on Mar 31, 2011      (read IAHawkKnit's 7 other reviews) 3 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lovely to use 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Very soft, knits up lovely. Making a hat out of it and it's turning out nicely. Would definitely use again. Only wish it came in solid colors as well.
By IAHawkKnit on Mar 29, 2011      (read IAHawkKnit's 7 other reviews) 2 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!