Manos Del Uruguay Maxima Multi Yarn Reviews

Maxima is a super soft and squishy kettle-dyed yarn. The worsted weight one-ply construction makes it a great all purpose yarn, and the fantastic yardage makes it perfect for 1 skein accessory projects. Fun, bright, intense colors will make your hand made item stand out from the crowd!

Manos yarn is hand dyed and hand wound by cooperatives in Uruguay. As with all hand dyed yarn, there can be variation in hue, even within the same dye batch. Please be aware that the basic winding technique used by the co-ops can result in up to a 4 gram variation in 100g hanks.

Manos Cooperatives are a part of the World Fair Trade Organization and every hank of Manos yarn you purchase helps a woman in Uruguay support her family!

$15.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for M9298 - Arctic (Available Mid January))

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5
Physical Weight:
100g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
100% Extrafine Merino Wool
US Needle:
6-8
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
219    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Maxima Multi Rating: 4.5 out of 5 (4.5 based on 11 reviews)
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Sarah Knits on Jan 29, 2014      (read Sarah Knits's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Very soft! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I used this yarn to make 2 hats last year and I just had to order again, because it is so easy to work with. Love this colorway!
By Tracey B on Dec 10, 2013      (read Tracey B's 12 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Gorgeous yarn! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Manos Del Uruguay's yarns are all rich in colors and luxurious to feel. Maxima is no different. It has a very soft hand and great stitch definition. It is by far my favorite worsted weight yarn. I have purchased it many times and will continue to purchase it for my worsted weight projects. No matter where I have purchased Maxima be it online or in my LYS it always has 218 yards. Give it a try! You won't be disappointed.
By Isabella Marie on Sep 08, 2012      (read Isabella Marie's 1 other review) 4 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Nice 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I'm not usually a fan of thick single ply yarns, but the color of the Maxima really attracted me. It works really well in textured stitches.
By PinotNoir on Jun 25, 2012      (read PinotNoir's 11 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Pictures do it no justice! :D 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Just recieved my order, my first ever from JBW. Very fast shipping! As I said in my subject, the pictures do it no justice! The mojave colorway is absolutely stunning, and the soft, lofty plushness of the yarn is heavenly, perfect for a cozy fall/winter knit. I purchased this yarn as a "thank you" gift for a friend, and now I'm jealous - I'm ording some for myself! Thank you, JBW! You have a very hapy (and repeat) customer!
By ThreeNeedles on Sep 22, 2011      (read ThreeNeedles's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Yardage is 218 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
According to the Fairmount Fibers the distributor of Manos yarn Maxima has 218 yards. Are you sure you are talking about the same yarn??
By Ridley on May 26, 2011      (read Ridley's 43 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
re: yardage 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
And I wanted to note, my yarn does say on the tag '219 yards'. I haven't measured it to be sure, but it's the same amount stated here by JBW.
By IAHawkKnit on Mar 31, 2011      (read IAHawkKnit's 7 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Lovely to use 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Very soft, knits up lovely. Making a hat out of it and it's turning out nicely. Would definitely use again. Only wish it came in solid colors as well.
By IAHawkKnit on Mar 29, 2011      (read IAHawkKnit's 7 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
True to Standard 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Another great product from Mano's. Love this. I do have to say, the yardage error should not be a reflection on Mano's. If you go to the Mano's website it states that there is 170 yards per skein. This is an error on JimmyBeans website and should not be held against Mano's.
By mary3454 on Feb 07, 2011      (read mary3454's 6 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Not true to yardage. 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
While the yarn is gorgeous, it only has @ 175-185 yards per skein...stating 219. I notified Jimmy Beans and was told they would send a pick up, but have not received it as of yet. Not happy or impressed with the company. Hopefully they receive this and follow up. CB
By Constance on Nov 30, 2010      (read Constance's 1 other review) 2 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!