Madelinetosh Tosh Chunky Yarn - Antler Reviews

Madelinetosh Tosh Chunky Yarn - Antler
Antler shown $22.00
Note: Dyed by hand in small batches, Madelinetosh yarns do not come in dye lots. We do our best to visually match hanks for each order and will contact you via email if one or more hanks differ noticeably from the others. The beauty of hand-dyed yarns is that each hank is a unique work of art, so please be aware that there can be a variation in coloring, hue and saturation, even within the same dye batch.

Tosh Chunky is a 100% superwash merino wool. Working up at a versatile aran to chunky weight gauge, Tosh Chunky it is perfect for heavier sweater and accessory projects. Each squishy soft skein is hand-dyed in small dye lots and machine washable!

$22.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Antler)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
3.5-4
Physical Weight:
115g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Merino Wool
US Needle:
9
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Heavy Worsted/Aran (16-18 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
165    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Eco:
  Ethically SourcedOrganic Dye
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  USA
Put Up:
  Skein
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  High Energy
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Tosh Chunky Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 based on 30 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By MaddieK on Jan 21, 2014      (read MaddieK's 23 other reviews) 18 out of 26 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
great yarn but color issues 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This is a great yarn. Love it for hats. I ordered a red color and it was an amazing red, consistent color throughout. Based on this experience I ordered a 'cobalt.' Received it and it is navy. Navy is not cobalt. Very disappointed. And, not dyed consistently - there is some white. I would buy in a brick and mortar store, if there was one near me that carried it. I'd suggest calling before ordering if you are picky about color. Would definitely give this yarn a 5 if not for the color problems.
By kyblue on Dec 05, 2013      (read kyblue's 1 other review) 11 out of 24 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soft, beautiful and gorgeous colors.
By Kelly Perfect on Dec 04, 2013      (read Kelly Perfect's 6 other reviews) 7 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By KnittAddiction on Nov 26, 2013      (read KnittAddiction's 7 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
NICE! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I like it much better than Vintage. Soft, blocked well but not too drapey! Will definitely use it much much more!
By KnittAddiction on Nov 26, 2013      (read KnittAddiction's 7 other reviews) 5 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
My first time to purchase the chunky weight of Madelinetosh. I used this on a highly cabled scarf and the texture really popped. The slight variations of color gave the fabric depth and interest...a great yarn choice for my project.
By thinkyarn on Feb 21, 2013      (read thinkyarn's 15 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Haven't Used Yet but Love It 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This was emergency yarn ordered when I thought another yarn was out of stock from another company. The other came in, so I used that, but I will use this yarn. The only reason I'm not using it immediately is that I did two other Christmas gifts with this color in different yarns - one was a huge sweater - and I'm sick of the color right now. Maybe this fall I'll do another infinity scarf.
By coffeeiv on Jan 22, 2013      (read coffeeiv's 16 other reviews) 4 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Thin Chunky 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I really like this yarn but it is on the light side of chunky so if using it in a pattern that calls for Chunky you might want to knit one size up. When I tried simply knitting it on larger needles the fabric was too loose and drapey.
By Glacierflame on Aug 30, 2012      (read Glacierflame's 6 other reviews) 9 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yummie 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Made Mittens out of this and love it. It is on the thinner side of chunky so I did have to adjust my pattern a bit for this.
By Glacierflame on Jul 24, 2012      (read Glacierflame's 6 other reviews) 6 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Work 2 skeins of yarn on a time 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I made the mistake of not heeding this advise as all the skeins looked alike. Of course there's inflections among the skeins but to the eye nothing definite. I was wrong. When I started the second skein after knitting 1.5 inches, you can definitely see a lighter color on the first skein versus the darker tone on the second. The handling of the yarn is lovely but the fact I need to undo my knitting and start anew is not.
By smknits on Jun 11, 2012      (read smknits's 5 other reviews) 1 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!