Lorna's Laces Shepherd Worsted Yarn - Cummerbund Reviews

Lorna's Laces Shepherd Worsted Yarn - Cummerbund
Cummerbund shown $21.00

Dressy or casual, children's clothes or adult apparel, last-minute gifts or home decor... the possibilities are endless with Shepherd Worsted! This glorious yarn has it all, from rich finger-pleasing texture to an elegant, even drape. Easy to work with and care for, this 100% superwash wool is incredibly soft with just a touch of silky shine. Eye-catching in dozens of fabulous solid and variegated hand-dyed colorways, Shepherd Worsted will fast become your favorite go-to yarn!

Limited Edition Colors: Available the 1st of each month... when they sell out, they sell out!

Interested in sampling this yarn without investing in full skeins? Check out our Shepherd Worsted samples! They're great for colorwork projects, small toys, or simply for finding the perfect color for that sweater you're dying to make!

The color Go, Sandy, Go was created in honor of a very special JBW family/staff member, Sandy!  Read the full description...


$21.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Cummerbund)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5
Physical Weight:
113g
Primary Fiber:
100% Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Wool
US Needle:
7
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
225    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  USA
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Shepherd Worsted Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 based on 266 reviews)

Lovely colors! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Really pleased with the excellent Jimmy Beans service and this yarn. It knits up beautifully and the twist is fairly firm, but the yarn is soft and easy to handle. Stitch definition is excellent, and the colors in the Christmas in Paris colorway make for a lovely sweater. Definitely would purchase this again!
By amethystrose1 on Jan 06, 2015      (read amethystrose1's 16 other reviews) 17 out of 40 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Brenda Monson on Jan 05, 2015      (read Brenda Monson's 9 other reviews) 8 out of 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By JennN on Dec 30, 2014      (read JennN's 12 other reviews) 12 out of 33 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
A lovely yarn! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn in the Farwell colorway to test swatch and received the Christmas in Paris LE colorway as a gift to make a sweater. My yarn was shipped very promptly and well-packed. The yarn's plies are moderately to tightly spun some areas are a little looser, but overall the spin and ply is good with little or no splitting. The yarn has very good stitch definition and bounce and the wool is soft and easy on your hands - no scratchiness. The Farwell colorway I tested did bleed some color when I gave it a soak and a block, but the color stayed very bright and the yarn stayed soft. I'm very happily knitting my gift and looking forward to a new sweater!
By amethystrose1 on Dec 28, 2014      (read amethystrose1's 16 other reviews) 8 out of 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Wild turkey flys into my basket 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
LOVE the wild turkey - the color is awesome and I am making a Brickless as we speak.
By Melody Bryan on Dec 19, 2014      (read Melody Bryan's 4 other reviews) 9 out of 25 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Don't buy from Jimmy Beans, try Webs 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
Jimmy Beans said it was in stock, I made my order and it never arrived. Cancelled order after 18 days of waiting
By Karen from PA on Nov 24, 2014      (read Karen from PA's 4 other reviews) 17 out of 45 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Bold Red bleeding issue 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This is probably the 4th project I've made with this yarn. I love the colors and the softness. It's a nice yarn to work with, and I know I'll be back for more. However, I just finished a sleep sack and Santa hat for a new baby due in December, and made these in conjunction with a white yarn. The Bold Red bled quite a lot when I was in the process of blocking it. I was able to rinse the color out of the white edging, but the bleeding was quite severe. It is still a nice yarn, and I will likely buy more, but perhaps not this color. Be aware of this issue when planning your project.
By Clair on Nov 09, 2014      (read Clair's 2 other reviews) 45 out of 82 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By mama2ja on Nov 04, 2014      (read mama2ja's 13 other reviews) 14 out of 30 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very Frozen 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I haven't used this yet, a little behind in projects, but my daughter loves it and says it does remind her of Frozen!
By mama2ja on Nov 04, 2014      (read mama2ja's 13 other reviews) 17 out of 43 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By sallen2849 on Nov 03, 2014      (read sallen2849's 2 other reviews) 18 out of 35 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!