Koigu KPM Solid Yarn - 1101.5 Reviews

Koigu KPM Solid Yarn - 1101.5
1101.5 shown $14.00
Koigu Premium Merino (KPM) Solid colors are pure hand painted beauty! The beauty of hand-dyed yarns is that each hank is a unique work of art, so please be aware that there can be a variation in coloring, hue and saturation, even within the same dye batch. Each dye lot is "painted" individually and then heat is applied to fix the dyes. Dye lots are rinsed and hung on rods to dry.

Koigu has agreed to contribute a minimum of 5% of their gross profits from the sale of their Stitch Red product (1100) to the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health in support of The Heart Truth® and women's heart health education and research.

$14.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 1101.5)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Merino Wool
US Needle:
3
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
175    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Painted
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Canada
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  High Energy
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall KPM Solid Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 based on 35 reviews)

Great 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Wonderfully swishy and springy to work with. Very similar feel to MadelineTosh sport!
By hshar on Jun 13, 2014      (read hshar's 4 other reviews) 10 out of 21 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great Yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I really love this yarn which I bought to take a class. It knits up very well. I've bought 4 more skeins since then.
By knittin'nurse on Jun 10, 2014      (read knittin'nurse's 1 other review) 2 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Perfect for Color Work 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I bought a bunch of different colors and can't wait to make a color work scarf/cowl. Have always loved this yarn since the first time I tried it.
By Momo3 on Mar 11, 2014      (read Momo3's 26 other reviews) 7 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By MilliNews on Dec 31, 2013      (read MilliNews's 5 other reviews) 1 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Koigu KPM Solid Yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
SO SOFT AND EASY TO WORK WITH
By MilliNews on Dec 31, 2013      (read MilliNews's 5 other reviews) 2 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
What is happening at Koigu? 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
I ordered this yarn because I wanted to knit socks to match one of the colors I had used for a sweater knit of three different Koigu colors. I was aware that it would be a different dye lot than the one I had used for the sweater, but I expected a close-enough match. Wrong! The yarn I received is much lighter in color and has a great deal of white undyed wool in it. I kept it because I can use it for another project, and I found on ebay the same color number but different dye lot that is a close-enough match for the socks. Koigu buyers need to be prepared for unpleasant surprises. I have used Koigu KPPPM and KPM yarns for more than 10 years and have loved it, but I wonder if its popularity has resulted in compromises with quality of both base yarn and dyeing - but most notably with dyeing. Very sad. Base yarn is thinner than it was in the beginning, and a 50 gram hank tends to weigh 47 or 48 grams.
By onmyneedles on Dec 12, 2013      (read onmyneedles's 5 other reviews) 10 out of 21 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By art4marie on Dec 03, 2013      (read art4marie's 2 other reviews) 9 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
really beautiful 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
very beautiful rich color love it great quality fast shipping !
By art4marie on Dec 03, 2013      (read art4marie's 2 other reviews) 9 out of 13 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Absolutely Beautiful 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I ready about a woman who used this yarn on line while looking for Granny Square patterns. I decided which baby blanket I wanted to make and ordered the yarn. I was awe struck when the package arrived. Merlino Wool and so soft. I know the baby will spit up, but this baby is going to have a blanket forever. The yarn was more than I expected to pay, but I got free shipping and an email with a credit on my next order. I will definitely be back because Jimmy Beans has the best yarn ever, and you can NEVER find it locally. Great Business, beautiful blanket - thank you for a wonderful experience.. Gail in Connecticut
By gardengirl6 on Oct 17, 2013      (read gardengirl6's 5 other reviews) 8 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Faye L on Oct 09, 2013      (read Faye L's 6 other reviews) 7 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!