Crystal Palace Mochi Plus Yarn Reviews

A self-striping aran weight, Mochi Plus is a soft, single ply yarn. Perfect for many knit and crochet projects including sweaters, hats, scarves, accessories and more!

$8.90
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 567 Beach Scene)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4-4.5
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Nylon
Specific Fiber:
80% Superwash Merino/20% Nylon
US Needle:
9-10
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Heavy Worsted/Aran (16-18 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
95    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Taiwan
Put Up:
  Ball
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Mochi Plus Rating: 4.7 out of 5 (4.7 based on 34 reviews)

Intense Rainbow 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I recently made a scarf using Crystal Palace Mini Mochi in Intense Rainbow. The colors are outstanding! Loved working with this yarn.
By Quakergirl2 on Sep 11, 2012      (read Quakergirl2's 7 other reviews) 6 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lovely Yarn 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
The colors for the Mochi Plus yarns just keep getting better. This is a heavy worsted, and knits up beautifully, though the more roving texture means it pills more easily.
By Judith Anderson-Bauer on Sep 06, 2012      (read Judith Anderson-Bauer's 12 other reviews) 6 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By AnnB on Aug 22, 2012      (read AnnB's 11 other reviews) 6 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very pretty 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
The colorways available in this yarn are very pretty, and the yarn is very soft. It is a one-ply and fuzzy, and undoing knitting mistakes is difficult.
By AnnB on Aug 22, 2012      (read AnnB's 11 other reviews) 7 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By jenndela on Jul 16, 2012      (read jenndela's 5 other reviews) 2 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By osully on Jun 25, 2012      (read osully's 4 other reviews) 4 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Mochi Plus Yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I've used several of the Mochi yarns for hat and scarf projects and have always loved the way they turn out. The colors are rich, the wool soft and lovely.
By osully on Jun 25, 2012      (read osully's 4 other reviews) 4 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Sebillah on May 02, 2012      (read Sebillah's 2 other reviews) 4 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Newbie experience 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
I've only been knitting now for a year, and this is definitely the most expensive yarn purchase I've ever made. The colors are vibrant and the yarn is soft. But it seems irregular - like hand spun? Not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing, but my biggest disappointment is that so far, each skein has at least one knot for color joins. I undo the knot and spit join as taught by my instructor, but she also said that knots are not something acceptable and should be reported to the manufacturer. I purchased this yarn according to the pattern that my spinning guild chose. Since I am a newbie and have not learned to spin yet, I purchased this yarn rather than using my own hand-spun. At $8.50+ for 11 skeins called for, this will be one expensive vest. But I expect it will be worth it and this experience will make it all the more gratifying when I learn to spin my own yarn.
By GrandmaRuth on Mar 12, 2012      (read GrandmaRuth's 4 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
I need more you will be hearing from me : 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I only wish the Mochi Plain colors would correspond with the baby colors of the No. 111 I purchased. The plain ones are too dark to combine them.
By MaryE on Feb 06, 2012      (read MaryE's 3 other reviews) 4 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!