Crystal Palace Chunky Mochi Yarn - 805 Tapestry Rainbow Reviews

Crystal Palace Chunky Mochi Yarn - 805 Tapestry Rainbow
805 Tapestry Rainbow shown $8.80
Chunky Mochi is the "big brother" of Mini Mochi and Mochi Plus. It has the same beautiful self striping bands of color that we have really come to love. Now it knits up pretty quickly at 2.75 to 3.5 stitches per inch!

$8.80
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 805 Tapestry Rainbow)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
3
Physical Weight:
50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool  (view more)
Secondary Fiber:
Nylon  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
80% Merino Wool - 20% nylon
US Needle:
11
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Bulky (12-15 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
49    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Chunky Mochi Rating: 4.5 out of 5 (4.5 based on 31 reviews)
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Made a chunky hat...loved it!!
By Alice Garrett on Apr 16, 2013      (read Alice Garrett's 3 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Softer than other Mochi yarns! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Chunky Mochi, for some reason, is noticeably softer than either Mochi Plus or Mini Mochi--I have no idea why. Another difference perhaps related to the softness? is that, although the fiber content of all 3 yarns is listed as the same, the 2 lighter weights can be machine-washed, but the chunky version requires hand-washing. No one seems to know why--it's just something to bear in mind. It is heaven to work with, but DO recall that it is single-ply, and therefore, essentially like roving. When making a knot while finishing off, I thought I was tugging gently, but it shredded right in my hands. Just be aware--but I wouldn't allow that to prevent me from using it again. And of course whatever you're making will fly. I used a size 11 to make a child's cowl, and it was done in a flash. Highly recommend this yarn.
By MDTechWriter on Jan 07, 2013      (read MDTechWriter's 12 other reviews) 2 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Luscious! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Soooo soft, beautiful color. I wish I could knit faster, so I can hurry up and wear this scarf!
By DMatsu on Nov 11, 2012      (read DMatsu's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
One of my favorite yarns. 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I have been using this yarn for awhile now. It is so soft and works up beautifully. The colors are gorgeous and they keep adding more. I am generally not a huge fan of self striping yarns, but this has changed my mind. The only negative I can think of is that it pulls apart/breaks rather easily since it's a loosely spun single ply. A tight knitter may have issues with breakage. Once it is knit up it is very sturdy though.
By whempsey on Aug 06, 2012      (read whempsey's 1 other review) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By abrigham on May 29, 2012      (read abrigham's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
YARN REVIEW 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Great product and received it quickly. They yarn is beautiful.
By beejae on Mar 21, 2012      (read beejae's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By ceecee on Mar 20, 2012      (read ceecee's 5 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Good yarn, with an occasional dud 2 out of 5 (2 out of 5)
I've ordered this yarn several times now and have enjoyed the look and feel of it. However, the last two I ordered have seemed to be poor quality. I'm fine with the yarn being slightly thick & thin, but these had very thick (roving-like) areas and very thin, thread-like areas that made the yarn completely useless for my intended project (it even tore apart when I attempted to frog it) :( I'm a little nervous to order more in case I have the same problem.
By DaintyLou on Mar 07, 2012      (read DaintyLou's 1 other review) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
My favorite yarn-beautiful hand and it works up quickly. Love the Mochi Yarns!
By woodlandgirl on Jan 23, 2012      (read woodlandgirl's 4 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Crystal Palace Chunky Mochi Yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I love this incredibly soft yarn and have been using it to knit caps and cowl scarves for friends. The colors are rich and lush!
By osully on Dec 12, 2011      (read osully's 4 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!