Colinette Jitterbug Yarn Reviews

Introducing the ultimate Easy Care hand dyed 4-ply fingering yarn...FREE SOCK PATTERN included on every label (1 skein knits a pair!)  Read the full description...

$25.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 085 Jay)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
150g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Easy Care Merino Wool
US Needle:
3
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
400    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Great Britain
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Bouncy Elastic
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Jitterbug Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 54 reviews)

Megan's Ruffled from Jitterbug Yarn 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
This is nice yarn to work with. However, if you are buying it for, as advertized, Megan's Ruffled Neck Warmer, the pattern calls for doubling the yarn. While the hand dying is pretty uniform, it means winding the skein into a ball, then rewinding again to get 2 even balls, then rewinding one of those balls to get them into the same color pattern. I solved this problem by buying 2 skeins and planning on making 2 warmers from the same color. Lots of beautiful colors, it handles well but is not quite as soft as Madelinetosh, perhaps due to the doubling, thus I rated it a 4.
By gjk on Jun 22, 2011      (read gjk's 29 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By GrammaStar on Jun 14, 2011      (read GrammaStar's 4 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Absolutely the finest colors in a yarn that I've ever seen!
By Kim Young on Mar 21, 2011      (read Kim Young's 7 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love the colorways in Colinette yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Novice knitter/crocher. I've always wanted to try Colinette yarn, but was hesitant due to the price. I finally treated myself to the CopperBeach and Velvet Plum colorways. I've only knitted up swatch samples to see how this yarn handles. Great stitch definition and a nice soft hand and sheen to the fabric. Not a big fan of wool or knitting socks but I might have to attempt a pair of socks because of this yarn. I now understand why people love Colinette yarn.
By anon on Jan 12, 2011      (read anon's 36 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love Jitterbug 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I have made 3 pairs of socks using the Jitterbug yarn. It makes lovely,firm stitches. When making a ssk or k2, you don't have to worry about catching a stray strand, this yarn doesn't split! And the color choices? Yummy!
By cb17 on Dec 14, 2010      (read cb17's 1 other review) 5 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By pelerine on Dec 08, 2010      (read pelerine's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Bev Love on Nov 29, 2010      (read Bev Love's 21 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Josie on Nov 02, 2010      (read Josie's 4 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Welsh yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I visited Wales, saw pastures filled with sheep, and knew I was in the home of WOOL. In Wales they call all yarn wool Back home I searched for and found Colinette yarn at JimmieBeans Wool. The Jitterbug I chose is a sock yarn of luscious tone of greens--the yarns knits up like velvet. I did a pair of fingerless mitts, the skein was ore than enoughcould do a third mitt in case I lose one!.Seldom do I find a yarn that knits so smoothly. I am keeping an eye open for more Colinette yarns such as this one. It is a favorite. I hope to do socks soon, as the feel of the mitts on my hands is like silk--socks will be lovely.
By Diann on May 03, 2010      (read Diann's 3 other reviews) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful, tough yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
High-twist, soft, gorgeous colors and great stitch definition. Basically my favorite sock-weight yarn. Makes beautiful gloves, lace, and whatever else you can think up.
By nutmegmeg on Dec 14, 2009      (read nutmegmeg's 2 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!