Blue Sky Alpacas Worsted Hand Dyes Yarn - 2023 Lagoon Reviews

Blue Sky Alpacas Worsted Hand Dyes Yarn - 2023 Lagoon
2023 Lagoon shown $24.40
A superior blend of alpaca and wool, hand dyed for a subtle, but amazing, color variation. We've got five new rich colors to choose from, too!

$24.40
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 2023 Lagoon)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Alpaca
Specific Fiber:
50% Alpaca, 50% Merino
US Needle:
9
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Heavy Worsted/Aran (16-18 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
100    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Feel:
  Buttery
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  High Energy
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Worsted Hand Dyes Rating: 4.7 out of 5 (4.7 based on 21 reviews)

Soft, warm, & beautiful. 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
very nice to knit with, it creates a beautiful, soft, & very warm fabric. Great for hats, mittens, & other garments.
By Jelli on Jun 16, 2015      (read Jelli's 5 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Jelli on Jun 10, 2015      (read Jelli's 5 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By kpwm on Mar 05, 2014      (read kpwm's 3 other reviews) 7 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Gorgeous 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
The color is great and the yarn is so soft and easy to work with
By kpwm on Mar 05, 2014      (read kpwm's 3 other reviews) 5 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Laura Edmiston on May 14, 2013      (read Laura Edmiston's 2 other reviews) 3 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
It is soft and has a lot of body. Worked with it on the beep beep baby blanket, which I had substituted with another yarn and was not happy. Great stitch definition, quick knit on #9 needles. Looking forward to making other projects with this yarn!
By smknits on Feb 07, 2013      (read smknits's 5 other reviews) 5 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Luscious, soft, divine 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This is my all time favorite yarn to crochet with...it has a light, soft texture, it has a wonderful springiness, and stitch definition is excellent. It doesn't have a lot of sheen, but the feel is pure luxury. Used it as one of the main yarns in a blanket for my father, and my mom knew it immediately. Turns out it is one of her fave yarns too. What are the odds?
By Pamela Brown Yaeger on Jan 27, 2013      (read Pamela Brown Yaeger's 26 other reviews) 4 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful but chunkier than expected 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Nothing wrong with this yarn, in fact, the Iris is beautiful but when knitted, I got a much heavier look than the worsted rating of 4 to the inch that it carries. More like 3.5 on 9's and almost a Chunky.
By MishiMam on Jan 21, 2013      (read MishiMam's 2 other reviews) 7 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Love this yarn!
By Laura Edmiston on Nov 06, 2012      (read Laura Edmiston's 2 other reviews) 4 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Not so great.... 2 out of 5 (2 out of 5)
I was disappointed with this yarn. The color was not what I had expected to see.....it seemed grayed out, sort of like a white shirt which has been washed too many times. As this is a hand dyed yarn, although the color I selected was a pastel, I expected it to be clear and clean, pink or peach with cream.....it was not. The description said it could adapt to many different needle sizes but when I knitted it on a needle two sizes smaller than the recommendation, the resulting fabric was stiff and unpleasant I ripped out the project and don't know what I will do with the yarn now. This is an expensive yarn. It ought to be great it was not. This was an unusual disappointment from Blue Sky Alpacas as I have always liked the yarns from their company before this one. I will certainly continue to use their other yarns, but could not recommend this one.
By grannyknits on Mar 03, 2012      (read grannyknits's 11 other reviews) 7 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!