Blue Sky Alpacas 100% Alpaca Sportweight Yarn Reviews

High-sheen luxury, a surefire classic. Lots of patterns to match.

$10.80
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 506 - Streaky Brown)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
6
Physical Weight:
50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Alpaca  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
100% Alpaca
US Needle:
5
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Sport (24-26 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
110    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall 100% Alpaca Sportweight Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 40 reviews)
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Super soft.
By StaceyKnitsIt on Dec 22, 2011      (read StaceyKnitsIt's 7 other reviews) 0 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
excellent for fair isle! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This yarn is great for fair isle. Yes, you can find less expensive Peruvian highland wool, but the alpaca in this yarn is worth every bit of the few extra dollars. The colors are true, it handles like a dream, and is ever so soft. It's now one of my staples!
By kwalbert on Dec 12, 2011      (read kwalbert's 5 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
strong yarn 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Not as soft as I wanted it to be on a size 5 US but I think it will wear very well and will undoubtedly get softer. Got a good sized cowl with cables out of 2 skeins.
By www.goodwoolhunting.com on Nov 25, 2011      (read www.goodwoolhunting.com's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Lose yourself in color! 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I was stunned to see that this yarn transmits light just like a glaze in oil painting or a stained glass window. The fibers are transluscent. Looking at the yarn on an Addi needle silver color under a strong light, you see the light coming right through it. If you love color, this is your new favorite yarn. Well, I'm a painter, so excuse me for getting carried away. Also, so soft, lovely to handle, and develops a nice texture as the knitted fabric grows. I love it.
By Nero on Sep 11, 2011      (read Nero's 5 other reviews) 5 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By pixiewear on Aug 31, 2011      (read pixiewear's 24 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Knitting 'Soft as a Cloud' Yarn into Delightful Bed Socks... 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Just to hold Blue Sky Alpacas, 100% Alpaca Sportweight Yarn in your hands is a joy. It is soft and subtle which made me question whether I would get nice and tight stitches but after knitting a pair of socks for my daughter, my fears were laid to rest. The stitches were nicely formed and created a soft and inviting pair of bed socks, perfect for rainy days or those inevitable sick days. The dark Molasses color was perfect with a soft pink simply embroidered at the top giving a feminism touch. Working the yarn was such a delight, I purchased an additional few hanks to make me a pair of socks and with my painful neuropathy, I can only imagine how comfortable these socks will be on my feet!
By Lynne Rule on Jun 17, 2011      (read Lynne Rule's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Mary Janik on Feb 23, 2011      (read Mary Janik's 3 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Fabulous! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
A treat to knit with...makes a wonderful finished product. Will produce a haze while working with the yarn.
By Jen Simerson on Feb 15, 2011      (read Jen Simerson's 5 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
beautiful!! so soft and strong. awesome drape and colors to dye for
By go marilyn on Jan 25, 2011      (read go marilyn's 161 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Blue Sky Alpaca Yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Great to work with and product is especially warm.
By Rose McFarland on Jan 04, 2011      (read Rose McFarland's 6 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!