account | search | cart view cartWool Watcher - Follow Me to Huge Savings Jimmy Beans Bucks Rewards 5% Back Live Chat is Offline
FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $4 U.S. ship on ALL others.
Navigate JBW
Navigate JBW - bottom
More Berroco products
More Berroco products

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

Related Kits
Related Kits - bottom

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

More Projects from our Shop
More Projects from our Shop - bottom

Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn - 2637 Plum Island (Discontinued) Reviews

Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn - 2637 Plum Island (Discontinued)
2637 Plum Island (Discontinued) shown

Product Information (for 2637 Plum Island (Discontinued))

Gauge (sts. / inch): 4.5 Physical Weight: 50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber: Wool  (view more) Secondary Fiber: Mohair  (view more)
Specific Fiber: 65% Wool, 25% Superkid Mohair, 10% Angora US Needle: US7
Washing Instructions: Hand Wash  (view more) Weight: Heavy Worsted/Aran (16-18 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage: 130    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Quantity:
Add to Cart  Add this product to your own personal wish list!  Notify me when additional quantities are available  Questions about quantities available?
 
Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn Colors Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn Description Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn Reviews Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn Video Reviews Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn Suggested Patterns
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Blackstone Tweed Rating: 3.9 out of 5 (3.9 based on 14 reviews)
    View more reviews
 Awful stuff 1 of 14 
 Review by: erindipityknits     (read erindipityknits's 2 other reviews) Aug 08, 2014 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
Hate, hate, hate this yarn. Had to start a top-down hat over again literally 7 times due to it tearing when I tugged to close the loop at the crown. Looks and feels nice, but it's got no strength or resilience whatsoever. Would never use again even on pain of death.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Nice yarn 2 of 14 
 Review by: Laurie W.     (read Laurie W.'s 53 other reviews) May 11, 2013 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I bought this for a pattern from weekend hats. It's a nice yarn, soft and well constructed, pretty color. It's nothing amazing, but I would use it again.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Breaks too easily 3 of 14 
 Review by: mindiw     (read mindiw's 5 other reviews) Mar 19, 2013 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn through a LYS and not Jimmy Beans. I fell in love with yarn and decided despite the cost to buy enough for a cardigan. I found that with slight tension the breaks too easily. It broke when pulling from the ball, while trying to construct a simple C4B or C4F cable and when I would need unravel a small part of the fabric to fix a mistake. I feel that the mohair content on the yarn compromises the integrity of the yarn. I do not recommend this yarn for anything larger than a hat, scarf, or mittens/gloves.
 1 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Good yarn for rustic sweaters 4 of 14 
 Review by: cecile     (read cecile's 11 other reviews) Feb 25, 2013 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I really enjoy the color I used salty water. This yarn is not the softer one I encountered, it's got a rustic feel to it, but it's still pleasurable. It softens a little after blocking. It doesn't pill nor fuzz to much, but break very easily. It's a good yarn, I've got nothing against it, but I didn't fell in love and wouldn't probably use it again so many other yarns to test... I can't knit twice with a yarn I don't absolutely love!
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Great yarn 5 of 14 
 Review by: Jane Ashworth     (read Jane Ashworth's 3 other reviews) Dec 21, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Love this yarn. I'm using it for fingerless gloves and they are turning out great.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  6 of 14 
 Review by: B_ycats     (read B_ycats's 1 other review) Nov 09, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  7 of 14 
 Review by: C. Donley     (read C. Donley's 2 other reviews) May 10, 2012 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  8 of 14 
 Review by: C. Donley     (read C. Donley's 2 other reviews) May 09, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Friendly and fast service! The yarn was just what I needed!
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  9 of 14 
 Review by: BestTymes     (read BestTymes's 5 other reviews) Jun 29, 2011 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  10 of 14 
 Review by: MCalDuckie     (read MCalDuckie's 19 other reviews) Apr 04, 2011 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 
    View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for your projects including yarn, fabric, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!