Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn - 2602 Steamers Reviews

Berroco Blackstone Tweed Yarn - 2602 Steamers
2602 Steamers shown $9.95
Tweed for the discerning knitter! This super soft yarn has all the rustic appeal of a classic tweed yarn but with a high dose of mohair and angora. With wear these garments will develop a soft and fuzzy halo. A joy to wear and a pleasure to knit.

$9.95
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 2602 Steamers)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5
Physical Weight:
50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Wool  (view more)
Secondary Fiber:
Mohair  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
65% Wool, 25% Superkid Mohair, 10% Angora
US Needle:
US7
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Heavy Worsted/Aran (16-18 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
130    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Blackstone Tweed Rating: 4 out of 5 (4.0 based on 15 reviews)
Tweed is so cool 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This season around here, tweedy tweeds are in--seeing tweed sweaters everywhere. Blackstone tweed may be going away, gets harder to find and so I keep buying it because it's fun & feels good to knit with, and looks great on when the knitting is done. It's a lot like Brooklyn Tweed's Shelter, but less easy to tear, tho' not made in USA, & maybe not as soft which isn't necessarily bad. Works to the same gauge, and a few less yards per ball but better price. Very satisfying yarn.
By Dinadaknita on Nov 28, 2014      (read Dinadaknita's 4 other reviews) 26 out of 48 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Awful stuff 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
Hate, hate, hate this yarn. Had to start a top-down hat over again literally 7 times due to it tearing when I tugged to close the loop at the crown. Looks and feels nice, but it's got no strength or resilience whatsoever. Would never use again even on pain of death.
By erindipityknits on Aug 08, 2014      (read erindipityknits's 2 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Nice yarn 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I bought this for a pattern from weekend hats. It's a nice yarn, soft and well constructed, pretty color. It's nothing amazing, but I would use it again.
By Laurie W. on May 11, 2013      (read Laurie W.'s 53 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Breaks too easily 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn through a LYS and not Jimmy Beans. I fell in love with yarn and decided despite the cost to buy enough for a cardigan. I found that with slight tension the breaks too easily. It broke when pulling from the ball, while trying to construct a simple C4B or C4F cable and when I would need unravel a small part of the fabric to fix a mistake. I feel that the mohair content on the yarn compromises the integrity of the yarn. I do not recommend this yarn for anything larger than a hat, scarf, or mittens/gloves.
By mindiw on Mar 19, 2013      (read mindiw's 5 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Good yarn for rustic sweaters 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I really enjoy the color I used salty water. This yarn is not the softer one I encountered, it's got a rustic feel to it, but it's still pleasurable. It softens a little after blocking. It doesn't pill nor fuzz to much, but break very easily. It's a good yarn, I've got nothing against it, but I didn't fell in love and wouldn't probably use it again so many other yarns to test... I can't knit twice with a yarn I don't absolutely love!
By cecile on Feb 25, 2013      (read cecile's 11 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Great yarn 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Love this yarn. I'm using it for fingerless gloves and they are turning out great.
By Jane Ashworth on Dec 21, 2012      (read Jane Ashworth's 3 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By B_ycats on Nov 09, 2012      (read B_ycats's 1 other review) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
By C. Donley on May 10, 2012      (read C. Donley's 2 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Friendly and fast service! The yarn was just what I needed!
By C. Donley on May 09, 2012      (read C. Donley's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By BestTymes on Jun 29, 2011      (read BestTymes's 5 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!