Manos Del Uruguay Silk Blend Yarn - 300G Coffee Reviews

Manos Del Uruguay Silk Blend Yarn - 300G Coffee
300G Coffee shown $14.50
Manos Silk Blend is a luxurious blend of merino and silk. Hand dyed in large kettles to create a marbleized, subtly striated effect that forms a rich palette of glorious colors. No two skeins are exactly alike and there are no dye lots.

Manos yarn is hand dyed and hand wound by cooperatives in Uraguay. As with all hand dyed yarn, there can be variation in hue, even within the same dye batch. Please be aware that the basic winding technique used by the co-ops can result in up to a 2 gram variation in 50g hanks.

The Manos Cooperatives are a part of the World Fair Trade Organization and every hank of Manos yarn you purchase helps a woman in Uraguay support her family!

$14.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 300G Coffee)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5-6
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
70% Merino, 30% Silk
US Needle:
4-6
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
150    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Eco:
  Co-opEthically SourcedFair Trade
Feel:
  Silky
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Uruguay
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Soft Shine
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Silk Blend Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars (4.6 based on 37 reviews)

3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
By DPayne06 on Dec 01, 2013      (read DPayne06's 2 other reviews) 24 out of 52 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By ssianis on Aug 12, 2013      (read ssianis's 1 other review) 28 out of 48 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Update to previous review 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I purchased 3 skeins of this yarn in different colors. My previous review was after knitting with the first skein. The next 2 were perfect and had no knots. I think that the first skein with all the knots may not be the norm and would like to update my review.
By cath0903 on Dec 17, 2012      (read cath0903's 3 other reviews) 24 out of 36 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 knots in 150 yard skein! 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
Love the color and it is very soft, but really! 8 knots!
By cath0903 on Dec 05, 2012      (read cath0903's 3 other reviews) 13 out of 32 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By NatalieD on Nov 10, 2012      (read NatalieD's 3 other reviews) 12 out of 33 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
So soft! 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This yarn is very similar in texture to Malabrigo Silky Merino. It's very soft and warm you definitively want to knit or crochet something to wear around your neck with it. It seems prone to a lot of piling, so I don't think it'll be a good option for gloves or socks, but I can be wrong.
By cecile on Nov 09, 2012      (read cecile's 11 other reviews) 5 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
OUI, OUI! c'est wonderful! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I got this at half price on wool watcher one day. I wanted it for a beret a girlfriend at work wanted for Christmas. She is going to love it. I love how it knits up. It is so soft and has nice halo.
By allstarmomof2 on Oct 23, 2012      (read allstarmomof2's 14 other reviews) 2 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Yummy stuff to work with!
By 253Girl on Jun 21, 2012      (read 253Girl's 2 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
fun 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
fun to knit with, great colors
By rosecheri on Mar 05, 2012      (read rosecheri's 12 other reviews) 1 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful yarn at a beautiful price 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This was the recommended yarn for a beret pattern. I had never used yarn from this company before and I had never used Jimmy Beans to order yarn before. Double the nerves! First, Jimmy Beans. It was easy to order, they did great follow up and the yarn arrived on time, and the packaging was intact. I was pleasantly surprised to find patterns on the back of the packaging. Second, Silk Blend yarn. The color of the yarn is even more beautiful than the photo on the web site. The yarn is easy to knit, has a slight sheen and feels luxurious as I work with it. This will be a Christmas present and I know the recipient will be thrilled with the gift. All things said and done, I am 110% satisfied with my purchase.
By mariaedzed on Dec 09, 2011      (read mariaedzed's 3 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!