Colinette Jitterbug Yarn Reviews

Introducing the ultimate Easy Care hand dyed 4-ply fingering yarn...FREE SOCK PATTERN included on every label (1 skein knits a pair!)  Read the full description...

Regularly: $25.00

On Sale for $17.45! (30% off!)
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 169 Apricot Smoothie)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
150g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Easy Care Merino Wool
US Needle:
3
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
400    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Great Britain
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Bouncy Elastic
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Jitterbug Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars (4.7 based on 58 reviews)

my favorite sock yarn EVER 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is such a pleasure to work with! It knits up so smoothly, and wears and washes well, with minimal pilling. I've loved all of the colorways I've purchased.
By superhuman on Feb 20, 2012      (read superhuman's 2 other reviews) 3 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
A Pleasure To Work With 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is a pleasure to work with. In fact, it's one of my favorites, even though I'm sometimes surprised by the colors when the skeins arrive in the mail. Normally the website's photographs provide me with an excellent representation of what I'm going to end up with. Not so with Jitterbug. But while the colors might be unexpected, they're still nice, and I'm always happy with the socks they produce.
By SFD on Feb 14, 2012      (read SFD's 20 other reviews) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Danielle Sinclair-Whitby on Jan 24, 2012      (read Danielle Sinclair-Whitby's 1 other review) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Jitterbug love 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
A friend gave me a skein of Jitterbug 2 years ago in a color that I never would have bought. I was skeptical because I heard of the short yardage in the older skeins. I knit a sock toe up with a Cat Bordhi pattern. These are my favorite socks. They are soft and spongy to the step. I would recommend Jitterbug anytime you want a warm and comfy sock.
By goldthreads on Nov 12, 2011      (read goldthreads's 2 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Megan's Ruffled from Jitterbug Yarn 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This is nice yarn to work with. However, if you are buying it for, as advertized, Megan's Ruffled Neck Warmer, the pattern calls for doubling the yarn. While the hand dying is pretty uniform, it means winding the skein into a ball, then rewinding again to get 2 even balls, then rewinding one of those balls to get them into the same color pattern. I solved this problem by buying 2 skeins and planning on making 2 warmers from the same color. Lots of beautiful colors, it handles well but is not quite as soft as Madelinetosh, perhaps due to the doubling, thus I rated it a 4.
By gjk on Jun 22, 2011      (read gjk's 30 other reviews) 12 out of 28 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By GrammaStar on Jun 14, 2011      (read GrammaStar's 4 other reviews) 2 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Absolutely the finest colors in a yarn that I've ever seen!
By Kim Young on Mar 21, 2011      (read Kim Young's 7 other reviews) 9 out of 23 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love the colorways in Colinette yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Novice knitter/crocher. I've always wanted to try Colinette yarn, but was hesitant due to the price. I finally treated myself to the CopperBeach and Velvet Plum colorways. I've only knitted up swatch samples to see how this yarn handles. Great stitch definition and a nice soft hand and sheen to the fabric. Not a big fan of wool or knitting socks but I might have to attempt a pair of socks because of this yarn. I now understand why people love Colinette yarn.
By anon on Jan 12, 2011      (read anon's 36 other reviews) 11 out of 18 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love Jitterbug 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I have made 3 pairs of socks using the Jitterbug yarn. It makes lovely,firm stitches. When making a ssk or k2, you don't have to worry about catching a stray strand, this yarn doesn't split! And the color choices? Yummy!
By cb17 on Dec 14, 2010      (read cb17's 1 other review) 17 out of 36 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By pelerine on Dec 08, 2010      (read pelerine's 2 other reviews) 11 out of 19 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!