Koigu Mini Skeinette Grab Bag Reviews

Every Koigu Mini-Skeinette Grab bag contains 20 Hand Painted mini-skeins of Koigu™ 10m KPPPM AND KPM! Each mini-skein is approximately 11 yards of 100% Merino Wool. The mini-skeins are ideal for projects like patchwork, modular knitting, and intarsia. Each mini-skein is enough to make a "hexa puff" from Stephanie Dosen's Beekeepers Quilt pattern. They're also ideal for projects like a 36 stitch mitred square, square blanket mania, embellishing, jewelry making, needlepoint, cross stitch, embroidery and many, many more!

Please note we have encounter some yardage discrepancies with some skeinettes. Koigu does there best to wind each skeinette to exactly 11yd/10m, but there may be some variation in yardage from skeinette to skeinette. If you encounter any short skeins in your grab bag, please let us know and we will do our best to correct the missing yardage.
You can also view all Koigu Mini Skeinette Grab Bag.

$25.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Desert)

Additional Info:
This grab bag has 20 skeins in orange, red, and browns.
Category:
Grab Bag  (view more)
Difficulty:
N/A  (view more)
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Mini Skeinette Grab Bag Rating: 4.1 out of 5 (4.1 based on 19 reviews)
Choose a specific product:
Ocean Colors 2 out of 5 (2 out of 5)
Oh, how I wish my Ocean Mini Skeinette Grab Bag looked like the photo. Alas, it does not. I just received my grab bag and am very disappointed in the color choices - certainly not what I was expecting, nor my idea of ocean colors. That said, I guess I will just keep it as sending it back seems a hassle. But, I will be ordering my idea of Koigu ocean colors when I am into my project.
By jeanhal on Jan 02, 2013      (read jeanhal's 1 other review) Product reviewed: Oceans 4 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
short skeinettes 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
I also agree. According to my gauge and puff size, these mini skeins are to short. I knit one up, knitting tighter than usual and using a very short tail for cast on and I was three rows short.I would need to change needle size and gauge and then my puffs would be smaller. I had to use another skeinette to finish. I love the yarn and the exceptional colors, there just isn't enough for the puffs. I will now need to use these for a scarf or another project I wasn't planning on doing. I would like to buy more if the yardage made it into a puff. Just a bit more would do it. I think 13 yards is just making it and these are 11 yards. I swap and give ample of 15 yards for this reason, just to be sure they get enough. 13 yards would have made it just right with not much extra. 11 is just to short.
By JPirkle on Sep 21, 2012      (read JPirkle's 2 other reviews) Product reviewed: Rainbow 12 out of 15 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
So cute!! 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Don't know what I'll make with these, but I love the variety of colors. Not a whole lot of yardage, though, for the price.
By Momo3 on Sep 19, 2012      (read Momo3's 23 other reviews) Product reviewed: Rainbow 4 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By mirmam on Sep 17, 2012      (read mirmam's 4 other reviews) Product reviewed: Flower Garden 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Beekeepers Delight!! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I am making a Beekeepers Quilt for a wedding present - I tried other yarns but nothing beats the Koigu. I ordered the Spring Flowers grab bag and the colors are beautiful!!!
By mirmam on Sep 17, 2012      (read mirmam's 4 other reviews) Product reviewed: Flower Garden 4 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Love the surprise of a grab bag. 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Love these skeinettes. Wonderful colors and so cute.
By Kaycee S on Sep 17, 2012      (read Kaycee S's 4 other reviews) Product reviewed: Rainbow 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Outstanding colors for Beekeeper's quilt! 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I love working with this yarn and the colors are exquisite. The only reason I didn't put up 5 stars is because I have one skeinette that didn't finish a puff. I haven't used them all, so don't know if others will be short as well. However, I did save every last length left over from the other skeinettes! So I just used the closest matches and was able to finish the puff! I like the variety of these yarns in my quilt.
By knittingnonna on Sep 17, 2012      (read knittingnonna's 4 other reviews) Product reviewed: Rainbow 5 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Just wanted to update my earlier review. JBW's customer service is as always, amazing and they're replacing the short skeins and looking into it.
By nikki57 on Aug 31, 2012      (read nikki57's 2 other reviews) Product reviewed: Flower Garden 11 out of 15 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
2 out of 5 (2 out of 5)
Not going to lie, I'm pretty disappointed with these. 10 meters is just enough for a hexipuff and while my first one had enough yarn, my second puff was 3 rounds short. I thought huh, that's weird because I had about a foot and a half extra on the first one if you include the tail from the cast on and what was left at the end. My second puff, I had a shorter cast on tail and still didn't make it. So, I went through my pile of gorgeous skeinettes and pulled out one that looked a bit smaller to measure. I measured and it was 30'10" ie about 9.4 meters. That .6 meters would have been enough for my puff, but it wasn't there. These are pretty useless if a bunch of them are short on yardage and don't give me enough for a puff. I'm now going to have to measure every single one before knitting up a puff to determine if I need to add in a stripe to complete the puff. The only reason I'm giving them 2 stars is because the yarn itself is beautiful, I just wish I got all of the yarn I paid for and expected.
By nikki57 on Aug 30, 2012      (read nikki57's 2 other reviews) Product reviewed: Flower Garden 37 out of 41 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!