account | search | cart view cartWool Watcher - Follow Me to Huge Savings Jimmy Beans Bucks Rewards 5% Back Live Chat is Offline
FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $4 U.S. ship on ALL others.
Navigate JBW
Navigate JBW - bottom
More Knitting Pure and Simple products

View More

Knitting Pure and Simple Patterns
Advanced Patterns Search
More Knitting Pure and Simple products

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

Related Kits
Related Kits - bottom

More featured products
More featured products - bottom

More Projects from our Shop
More Projects from our Shop - bottom

Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns - 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern Reviews

Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns - 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern
998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern shown $5.00
Quantity:
Add to Cart  Add this product to your own personal wish list!  Notify me when additional quantities are available  Questions about quantities available?
 
Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns Available Options Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns Description Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns Reviews Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns Video Reviews Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns Suggested Yarn
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Sock Patterns Rating: 4.4 out of 5 (4.4 based on 33 reviews)
998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern Rating: 3.4 out of 5 (3.4 based on 5 reviews)
Choose a specific product:
    View more reviews
 Easy to follow pattern 1 of 33 
 Review by: ralabamus     (read ralabamus's 22 other reviews) Mar 13, 2012 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 Boot Socks 2 of 33 
 Review by: Rose McFarland     (read Rose McFarland's 6 other reviews) Apr 28, 2011 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock
Haven't tried this pattern yet, but will be making boot socks this summer for my brother -- the hunter!
 0 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 still a novice 3 of 33 
 Review by: gfigwife     (read gfigwife's 10 other reviews) Jul 15, 2010 
 Rating: 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock
Was solooking forward to using this pattern for my husbands socks all was great until trying to turn the heal. I had to redo twice when I got to the shaping of the heel. decided enough is anough - - went back to my plainol' simple basic sock pattern and made a few adjustments and bingo - -Got me socks! As said, I'm still learning so there are probably many of you who got it right first time. Will try again with just old yarn and make a tester. Outside of this - - I love you guys!! So three stars is for pattern, not JBW!!
 1 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 perfect 4 of 33 
 Review by: BetsyBlueberry     (read BetsyBlueberry's 11 other reviews) Jan 15, 2010 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock
These knit up perfect - easy.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 I now LOVE to knit socks! 5 of 33 
 Review by: Kathy B     (read Kathy B's 2 other reviews) Nov 19, 2009 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock
I'm a 50+ y.o. returning knitter. You know, mom tried to show you when you were younger, she was left-handed, you were right-handed...frustration and tears. So you never progressed much beyond knitting garter stitch scarves? Try this sock pattern and you will be amazed at how easy socks are! This is a delight-using a worsted weight makes the knitting go much faster. The instruction are clear and number of needles is kept to a minimum. The secret to knitting socks is read the pattern first, and then trust the process. Just do what she says and go for it! The only thing I do recommend is that after you turn the heel, shape the gusset and knit a few rows, you try the sock on-leave the needles in and slip over your foot. It gives you a better idea of how far to knit before the shaping of the toe. I did alter this pattern a bit. I had knitted the foot part and when I tried it on, realized that the toe shaping would have to be pretty darn quick. So I did decrease rounds each round, and when there were 24 stitches total, put the heel on one needle and the instep on the other and finished with the Kitchener stitch. There are plenty of videos on how to do this, choose the one easiest to you and finish your sock! I'm a huge fan of the KPS patterns-and this sock pattern is very nice. My husband's socks came out great and now I'm working on a pair for me.
 2 out of 2 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

Here are some other Sock Patterns reviewed:
 Just as claimed... 6 of 33 
 Review by: DimTwinkle     (read DimTwinkle's 5 other reviews) Feb 06, 2014 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 216 - Beginner's Lightweight Socks
This pattern is great for a beginner to socks. I've only just started a pair but I've carefully read the entire pattern and the directions are easy to follow.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  7 of 33 
 Review by: sfuller     (read sfuller's 5 other reviews) Jan 08, 2014 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 116 - Mukluk Slippers
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  8 of 33 
 Review by: confont     (read confont's 12 other reviews) Dec 11, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 116 - Mukluk Slippers
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  9 of 33 
 Review by: confont     (read confont's 12 other reviews) Dec 11, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 203 - Easy Children's Socks
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 

  10 of 33 
 Review by: confont     (read confont's 12 other reviews) Dec 11, 2012 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
 Product reviewed: 9728 - Beginner Socks for Women
 0 out of 3 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 

 
    View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!