Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns - 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern Reviews

Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns - 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern
998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern shown $5.00
Men's Worsted Weight Easy Boot Sock
You can also read the full description or view all Knitting Pure and Simple Sock Patterns.

$5.00


Other options from $5.00 to $5.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern)

Finished Gauge:
20 (5 sts. / inch)  (view more)
Garment Type:
Socks and Footwear  (view more)
Suggested Needles:
DP US6
Suggested Yarns:
Lorna's Laces Shepherd Worsted - 2 hanks
Wearer:
Men  (view more)
Yarn Gauge:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yarn Yardage:
350
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Sock Patterns Rating: 4.4 out of 5 (4.4 based on 33 reviews)
998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock Pattern Rating: 3.4 out of 5 (3.4 based on 5 reviews)
Choose a specific product:
Easy to follow pattern 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By ralabamus on Mar 13, 2012      (read ralabamus's 22 other reviews) Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Boot Socks 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
Haven't tried this pattern yet, but will be making boot socks this summer for my brother -- the hunter!
By Rose McFarland on Apr 28, 2011      (read Rose McFarland's 6 other reviews) Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
still a novice 3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
Was solooking forward to using this pattern for my husbands socks all was great until trying to turn the heal. I had to redo twice when I got to the shaping of the heel. decided enough is anough - - went back to my plainol' simple basic sock pattern and made a few adjustments and bingo - -Got me socks! As said, I'm still learning so there are probably many of you who got it right first time. Will try again with just old yarn and make a tester. Outside of this - - I love you guys!! So three stars is for pattern, not JBW!!
By gfigwife on Jul 15, 2010      (read gfigwife's 10 other reviews) Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
perfect 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
These knit up perfect - easy.
By BetsyBlueberry on Jan 15, 2010      (read BetsyBlueberry's 11 other reviews) Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
I now LOVE to knit socks! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I'm a 50+ y.o. returning knitter. You know, mom tried to show you when you were younger, she was left-handed, you were right-handed...frustration and tears. So you never progressed much beyond knitting garter stitch scarves? Try this sock pattern and you will be amazed at how easy socks are! This is a delight-using a worsted weight makes the knitting go much faster. The instruction are clear and number of needles is kept to a minimum. The secret to knitting socks is read the pattern first, and then trust the process. Just do what she says and go for it! The only thing I do recommend is that after you turn the heel, shape the gusset and knit a few rows, you try the sock on-leave the needles in and slip over your foot. It gives you a better idea of how far to knit before the shaping of the toe. I did alter this pattern a bit. I had knitted the foot part and when I tried it on, realized that the toe shaping would have to be pretty darn quick. So I did decrease rounds each round, and when there were 24 stitches total, put the heel on one needle and the instep on the other and finished with the Kitchener stitch. There are plenty of videos on how to do this, choose the one easiest to you and finish your sock! I'm a huge fan of the KPS patterns-and this sock pattern is very nice. My husband's socks came out great and now I'm working on a pair for me.
By Kathy B on Nov 19, 2009      (read Kathy B's 2 other reviews) Product reviewed: 998 - Men's Heavy Weight Boot Sock 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Here are some other Sock Patterns reviewed:
Just as claimed... 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This pattern is great for a beginner to socks. I've only just started a pair but I've carefully read the entire pattern and the directions are easy to follow.
By DimTwinkle on Feb 06, 2014      (read DimTwinkle's 5 other reviews) Product reviewed: 216 - Beginner's Lightweight Socks 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
By sfuller on Jan 08, 2014      (read sfuller's 5 other reviews) Product reviewed: 116 - Mukluk Slippers 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By confont on Dec 11, 2012      (read confont's 12 other reviews) Product reviewed: 116 - Mukluk Slippers No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By confont on Dec 11, 2012      (read confont's 12 other reviews) Product reviewed: 203 - Easy Children's Socks No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
By confont on Dec 11, 2012      (read confont's 12 other reviews) Product reviewed: 9728 - Beginner Socks for Women 0 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!