128 Superwash Yarn Review and Rating

View all Cascade Yarn
Overall 128 Superwash Yarn Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 out of 5) Write Reviews Write a review
Back to 128 Superwash Yarn.
     View more reviews
 GREAT STUFF !!! 1 of 50 
 Review by: KTheod     (read KTheod's 6 other reviews) Dec 14, 2017 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love this yarn. I have made a number of hats and cowels with it. I am now making a baby blanket from the book Quick Baby Blankets. My favorite outcome was with the gaptastic cowl pattern by Jen Geigley. It was a seed stich on size 13 needles and came out so soft, with a nice drape. The only con is that there are only 128 yards in the skein.
 No comments on this review yet.  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Good yarn in moderate price 2 of 50 
 Review by: 4thcat     (read 4thcat's 1 other reviews) Oct 25, 2017 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I use a lot of Cascade yarns for projects that are meant to be gifts. Especially for gifts for the little ones. It’s a good sturdy yarn in a super wash wool. Warm ad soft for baby yet easy care for mom.
 1 out of 4 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Good yarn in moderate price 3 of 50 
 Review by: Harm     (read Harm's 1 other reviews) Aug 24, 2017 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
The yarn is really nice. It came in a timely manner. I did request that it be prepared in a ball for free,and it was not done. It may have been a miscommunication.
 2 out of 5 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Good yarn in moderate price 4 of 50 
 Review by: Cwegner     (read Cwegner's 13 other reviews) Jun 06, 2017 
 Rating: 2 out of 5 stars (2 out of 5)
The yarn is really nice. It came in a timely manner. I did request that it be prepared in a ball for free,and it was not done. It may have been a miscommunication.
 10 out of 24 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Pretty Colors- Nice to work with. 5 of 50 
 Review by: KTheod     (read KTheod's 6 other reviews) Mar 22, 2017 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I used this yarn in multi-pink to make cat hats. It was easy to work with. I since bought more in multi- teals to make a washable shawl for a friend.
 6 out of 16 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Not really machine washable 6 of 50 
 Review by: AnnaPiranha     (read AnnaPiranha's 2 other reviews) Feb 07, 2017 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
I made a cowl of this yarn for a friend. I machine washed this on delicate with my socks and other handknits and it was a disaster. I didn't dry it. The stripped cowl is completely fuzzed and pilled beyond belief.
 20 out of 38 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Love It 7 of 50 
 Review by: Jan F     (read Jan F's 3 other reviews) Nov 15, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I just finished a sweater with this yarn and it couldn't have come out more perfect. Feels great, knits great
 6 out of 12 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Tears shed : 8 of 50 
 Review by: Footballmom55     (read Footballmom55's 1 other reviews) Aug 04, 2016 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn to make a sweater I've been wanting to make for a very long time. At first, I loved how soft the yarn was but the more I knit, I noticed that the yarn mostly the white but all 3 colors seemed to be thinner in spots. I also realized that for an adult sweater, there wasn't much structure or bounce. I was working on 10s I finished the sweater and blocked it the way I usually do. soak, shape & air dry. It was so soft and floppy when I took it out of the water that I was almost afraid to handle it. Because it was superwash, when it was partially dry, I threw it in the dryer on medium for 15 min to see if it would pull together. When I took it out, there were 4 holes in it mid sweater - not in the seams and it was all pilled. The sweater looked horrible. All that work and I don't have a sweater that I want to wear. I have been knitting for 50 years and I knit a lot and have never had an experience like this. I'm afraid that even if I fix the holes and defuzz it, I will be battling this problem continuously. For the record, I did NOT buy this yarn from Jimmy Beans but as I do purchase most of my yarn here, I chose to share my experience and perhaps save someone else the same heartache! Please also read the comments on this yarn on Ravelry before you purchase especially if you are making a larger item. Seems like mittens and children's hats work ok.
 28 out of 51 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Tears shed : 9 of 50 
 Review by: ldbugbee     (read ldbugbee's 1 other reviews) Jul 12, 2016 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn to make a sweater I've been wanting to make for a very long time. At first, I loved how soft the yarn was but the more I knit, I noticed that the yarn mostly the white but all 3 colors seemed to be thinner in spots. I also realized that for an adult sweater, there wasn't much structure or bounce. I was working on 10s I finished the sweater and blocked it the way I usually do. soak, shape & air dry. It was so soft and floppy when I took it out of the water that I was almost afraid to handle it. Because it was superwash, when it was partially dry, I threw it in the dryer on medium for 15 min to see if it would pull together. When I took it out, there were 4 holes in it mid sweater - not in the seams and it was all pilled. The sweater looked horrible. All that work and I don't have a sweater that I want to wear. I have been knitting for 50 years and I knit a lot and have never had an experience like this. I'm afraid that even if I fix the holes and defuzz it, I will be battling this problem continuously. For the record, I did NOT buy this yarn from Jimmy Beans but as I do purchase most of my yarn here, I chose to share my experience and perhaps save someone else the same heartache! Please also read the comments on this yarn on Ravelry before you purchase especially if you are making a larger item. Seems like mittens and children's hats work ok.
 7 out of 15 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Very soft and elastic 10 of 50 
 Review by: Juanotero79     (read Juanotero79's 9 other reviews) Apr 18, 2016 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Used this white yarn to border the baby ombre color of the same brand and it turned out beautiful. Love this yarn. It is so soft I want to make an adult size blanket with it. The only negative is the amount of yarn in each skein. Wish it had more yardage or it was cheaper.
 21 out of 32 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
     View more reviews

We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more! Jimmy Beans Wool is Your Local Yarn Store... Online!