Big Wool Yarn Review and Rating

View all Rowan Yarn
Overall Big Wool Yarn Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars (4.3 out of 5) Write Reviews Write a review
Back to Big Wool Yarn.
     View more reviews
  1 of 22 
 Review by: Kristina Brown     (read Kristina Brown's 4 other reviews) Apr 11, 2018 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 BAD 2 of 22 
 Review by: warrior22158     (read warrior22158's 1 other reviews) Dec 12, 2016 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
Knots, knots, and more knots. I don't know how this got good reviews. Don't buy. For your sake and your blankets
 6 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Knots in the yarn. 3 of 22 
 Review by: jadorelle     (read jadorelle's 1 other reviews) Dec 12, 2016 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
I bought 17+ balls for a nice couch throw for the winter, and in every single ball, there was a knot join randomly in it. It wasn't even always in the beginning or the end, there would randomly be a a knot that can't even be fixed just by untying it, because its a knot to join the yarn together. It's enough annoyance joining my yarn together for this blanket without having to do it 2 or 3 times extra per ball.
 9 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Knots in the yarn. 4 of 22 
 Review by: geoglow     (read geoglow's 5 other reviews) Apr 22, 2014 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I bought 17+ balls for a nice couch throw for the winter, and in every single ball, there was a knot join randomly in it. It wasn't even always in the beginning or the end, there would randomly be a a knot that can't even be fixed just by untying it, because its a knot to join the yarn together. It's enough annoyance joining my yarn together for this blanket without having to do it 2 or 3 times extra per ball.
 109 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Knots in the yarn. 5 of 22 
 Review by: onmyhonor     (read onmyhonor's 99 other reviews) Sep 19, 2013 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I bought 17+ balls for a nice couch throw for the winter, and in every single ball, there was a knot join randomly in it. It wasn't even always in the beginning or the end, there would randomly be a a knot that can't even be fixed just by untying it, because its a knot to join the yarn together. It's enough annoyance joining my yarn together for this blanket without having to do it 2 or 3 times extra per ball.
 120 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Like it! 6 of 22 
 Review by: onmyhonor     (read onmyhonor's 99 other reviews) Sep 19, 2013 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
Sheds a little but otherwise a guick and easy knit. Am using it for winter hats and so far have ordered four times in various colors all of which are very pretty.
 132 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Like it! 7 of 22 
 Review by: knitwitt     (read knitwitt's 2 other reviews) Feb 08, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Sheds a little but otherwise a guick and easy knit. Am using it for winter hats and so far have ordered four times in various colors all of which are very pretty.
 93 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Good stitch definition with Rowan Big Wool 8 of 22 
 Review by: knitwitt     (read knitwitt's 2 other reviews) Feb 07, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I knit the Boheme hat from French Girl Knits Accessories using the recommended Rowan Big Wool. The yarn was nice to work with, and the stitch definition of the cables, seed stitch was nice.
 115 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Big Wool, Big Fun 9 of 22 
 Review by: goldthreads     (read goldthreads's 2 other reviews) Dec 04, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I usually don't knit with yarns that are heavier than worst weight. I just don't like knitting with big needles. My daughter saw a cowl pattern that called for chunky weight yarn. So I bought Rowan Big Wool. I love the spongy spring of the wool. It knit up to a soft warm cowl. I would buy Big Wool again for chunky weight projects.
 129 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Pretty color 10 of 22 
 Review by: onmyhonor     (read onmyhonor's 99 other reviews) Apr 10, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I have not knit this up yet, but arrived promptly and the color is great and so soft.Will review again after have used.
 131 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
     View more reviews

We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!

Jimmy Beans Wool is Your Local Yarn Store... Online!