Shepherd Worsted Yarn Review and Rating

View all Lorna's Laces Yarn
Overall Shepherd Worsted Yarn Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 out of 5) Write Reviews Write a review
Back to Shepherd Worsted Yarn.
 View previous reviews    View more reviews
  21 of 279 
 Review by: MamaSue     (read MamaSue's 8 other reviews) Jan 27, 2015 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
 17 out of 43 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Enjoyable to knit with 22 of 279 
 Review by: amethystrose1     (read amethystrose1's 16 other reviews) Jan 26, 2015 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
The yarn has a soft and springy hand and is easy on your hands. It knits up into a very springy and soft, warm fabric. You may want to knit this yarn with a slightly duller set of needles as it does like to split a little, but overall it's one I'd definitely buy again!
 14 out of 36 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Enjoyable to knit with 23 of 279 
 Review by: reydruns     (read reydruns's 2 other reviews) Jan 26, 2015 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
The yarn has a soft and springy hand and is easy on your hands. It knits up into a very springy and soft, warm fabric. You may want to knit this yarn with a slightly duller set of needles as it does like to split a little, but overall it's one I'd definitely buy again!
 17 out of 40 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Lovely colors! 24 of 279 
 Review by: amethystrose1     (read amethystrose1's 16 other reviews) Jan 06, 2015 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Really pleased with the excellent Jimmy Beans service and this yarn. It knits up beautifully and the twist is fairly firm, but the yarn is soft and easy to handle. Stitch definition is excellent, and the colors in the Christmas in Paris colorway make for a lovely sweater. Definitely would purchase this again!
 27 out of 57 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Lovely colors! 25 of 279 
 Review by: Brenda Monson     (read Brenda Monson's 9 other reviews) Jan 05, 2015 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Really pleased with the excellent Jimmy Beans service and this yarn. It knits up beautifully and the twist is fairly firm, but the yarn is soft and easy to handle. Stitch definition is excellent, and the colors in the Christmas in Paris colorway make for a lovely sweater. Definitely would purchase this again!
 9 out of 22 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Lovely colors! 26 of 279 
 Review by: JennN     (read JennN's 12 other reviews) Dec 30, 2014 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Really pleased with the excellent Jimmy Beans service and this yarn. It knits up beautifully and the twist is fairly firm, but the yarn is soft and easy to handle. Stitch definition is excellent, and the colors in the Christmas in Paris colorway make for a lovely sweater. Definitely would purchase this again!
 12 out of 37 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 A lovely yarn! 27 of 279 
 Review by: amethystrose1     (read amethystrose1's 16 other reviews) Dec 28, 2014 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn in the Farwell colorway to test swatch and received the Christmas in Paris LE colorway as a gift to make a sweater. My yarn was shipped very promptly and well-packed. The yarn's plies are moderately to tightly spun some areas are a little looser, but overall the spin and ply is good with little or no splitting. The yarn has very good stitch definition and bounce and the wool is soft and easy on your hands - no scratchiness. The Farwell colorway I tested did bleed some color when I gave it a soak and a block, but the color stayed very bright and the yarn stayed soft. I'm very happily knitting my gift and looking forward to a new sweater!
 10 out of 24 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Wild turkey flys into my basket 28 of 279 
 Review by: Melody Bryan     (read Melody Bryan's 4 other reviews) Dec 19, 2014 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
LOVE the wild turkey - the color is awesome and I am making a Brickless as we speak.
 11 out of 30 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Don't buy from Jimmy Beans, try Webs 29 of 279 
 Review by: Karen from PA     (read Karen from PA's 4 other reviews) Nov 24, 2014 
 Rating: 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
Jimmy Beans said it was in stock, I made my order and it never arrived. Cancelled order after 18 days of waiting
 18 out of 49 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Bold Red bleeding issue 30 of 279 
 Review by: Clair     (read Clair's 2 other reviews) Nov 09, 2014 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This is probably the 4th project I've made with this yarn. I love the colors and the softness. It's a nice yarn to work with, and I know I'll be back for more. However, I just finished a sleep sack and Santa hat for a new baby due in December, and made these in conjunction with a white yarn. The Bold Red bled quite a lot when I was in the process of blocking it. I was able to rinse the color out of the white edging, but the bleeding was quite severe. It is still a nice yarn, and I will likely buy more, but perhaps not this color. Be aware of this issue when planning your project.
 45 out of 86 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 View previous reviews    View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!