Universal Yarns Classic Shades Yarn - 717 Cedar Forest (Discontinued) Reviews

Universal Yarns Classic Shades Yarn - 717 Cedar Forest (Discontinued)
717 Cedar Forest (Discontinued) shown
Sorry, but specific product you requested is not currently available. Hopefully you can find another option below.
The exquisite roving style of this wool and acrylic blend is perfect for artistic and sophisticated knits. A silky soft worsted weight yarn, Classic Shades is machine washable and comes in a variety of self-striping colorways.

$7.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 717 Cedar Forest (Discontinued))

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4-5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Acrylic
Secondary Fiber:
Wool
Specific Fiber:
70% Acrylic, 30% Wool
US Needle:
7-9
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
197    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Behavior:
  Splits
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Full
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Synthetic
Origin:
  Turkey
Put Up:
  Skein
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Classic Shades Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 based on 41 reviews)

Nice yarn! 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
It's a very nice yarn. It's getting 4 stars because it's rough to work with but it's super soft knit up!! and really pills when knitting - probably because it's a loosely spun single. But I do like it enough to be making 20 hats in memory of my mother with it!
By WanderingLass on Feb 06, 2016      (read WanderingLass's 1 other review) 2 out of 8 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By snoekl on Jan 23, 2016      (read snoekl's 4 other reviews) 5 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By AngelHat on Jan 05, 2016      (read AngelHat's 2 other reviews) 5 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love Love love 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love this yarn, it is 30% wool, very washable and holds up extremely well. The color options are just fabulous!
By AngelHat on Jan 04, 2016      (read AngelHat's 2 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great Color! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This was my first time purchasing this brand of yarn,,and it won't be my last! I'm fairly new to crochet, about 6 months, so am trying a lot of different yarns. I got the Neon Lime Surprise...I just like the colors in the photo...but it's much prettier in person! It was very easy to crochet with. No splitting at all. What I do notice is the yarn is not all the same thickness...it gets thicker in parts and thinner in other parts. Most of the time that bothers me, but it doesn't with this yarn because it seems to be evenly uneven, which probably sounds strange! But the Doilie I made looks pretty nice, even with the little thick places. The color is just gorgeous! When I finished it reminds me of a Morning Glory flower!! Overall I like this yarn and the price isn't bad at all, and I will definitely purchase more in different colors!
By CathieB on Oct 06, 2015      (read CathieB's 3 other reviews) 13 out of 24 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Nice fiber and it is washable 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
It has been a long cold winter and knitting has kept me warm many evenings. I am working with some nice jewel toned colorways. The color changes are gradual which works nicely for my project. I am working on a modular afghan and can't wait to use this yarn for some pillows.
By Sue V on Feb 25, 2015      (read Sue V's 2 other reviews) 20 out of 52 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Hnp on Jan 06, 2015      (read Hnp's 3 other reviews) 28 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Watermelon 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
My skeins were mostly teal & some lime but with not much hot pink, more of a plum. However it made up with beautiful self striping. My 4th project with this yarn. It is an acrylic so crunches on the needles & can be splitty like a loose roving but the colors are fantastic. Excellent yards for $s.
By FurKnits on Nov 17, 2014      (read FurKnits's 59 other reviews) 40 out of 68 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Sailor's Delight 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I love the texture of this yarn. I found it very easy to knit with & didn't have a problem with split stitches that many people were worried about. I loved the colors showing on the. Outside of the skein which were a vibrant blue & pink mixed with orange, however with my finished hat, 90 % of the skein seems to be a cross between orange! dark grey and blah looking colors. There was in the end very little of the nice colors ghost. I could see from the outside. For this I am disappointed in the yarn.
By Tonya B. on Sep 14, 2014      (read Tonya B.'s 1 other review) 33 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Soft and Great Colors 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I used this yarn for a collar pattern that uses Noro Silk Gardens. This is a much softer substitute. The colors self-stripe Lake blends beautifully from blues to purples, Sunset blends bright oranges and violet. Super soft and machine washable with a really reasonable price, who could ask for more. It is a single ply yarn which game me to splitting problems. This yarn now comes in a super bulky weight that looks like it shades just as beautifully in bright as well as more subtle colors. Can't wait to try it.
By gjk on Jun 29, 2014      (read gjk's 30 other reviews) 21 out of 54 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!