Malabrigo Rueca Handspun Yarn - 877 Queguay Reviews

Malabrigo Rueca Handspun Yarn - 877 Queguay
877 Queguay shown

Sorry, but specific product you requested is not currently available. Hopefully you can find another option below.

Rueca is a gorgeous, limited edition handspun wool reclaimed from the fiber remnants that accumulate in industrial spinning machines. Typically, these fibers are treated as waste or mixed with other fibers of lesser quality. Malabrigo, intent on living in a less wasteful and more rational world, has decided to rescue this magnificent wool. In collaboration with women living deep within Peru, this "waste" is now being transformed into the beautiful wool you see before you.

Please note that because this yarn is hand spun, the yardage and gauge/thickness can vary greatly from skein to skein. The yardage listed on our website is the average yardage in each skein and what is listed on the tag.


Regularly: $19.00

On Sale for $9.50! (50% off!)
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 877 Queguay)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5-6
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Merino Superwash Wool
US Needle:
5
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
285    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Handspun
Dye Method:
  Kettle Dyed
Feel:
  Buttery
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Just at Jimmy's:
  Yes
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  DenseThick and Thin
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Rueca Handspun Rating: 3.7 out of 5 stars (3.7 based on 11 reviews)

Rating Jimmy Beans Wool Response to my Review 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I just want to thank JBW for catching my review of this yarn and offering to make it right. Once again they demonstrated superior customer service this company has my ongoing loyalty and business. Thank you!!!!!!
By Noli on Sep 16, 2015      (read Noli's 12 other reviews) 6 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Totally unimpressed 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
I really, really wanted to like this yarn, I bought a slew of it, but am extremely unimpressed. It's not anywhere near typical Malabrigo standards and has sort of put me off this company I don't appreciate efforts to pass poor quality products off at these kind of prices. The weight and color are totally inconsistent, very sloppy dying process, and texture-wise it feels and looks like a raggedy old acrylic blanket. The skeins, which are clearly not 285 yards each, have splices in them too. Unfortunately I caked two skeins that don't match at all so I've just blown $20 for nothing.
By Noli on Aug 22, 2015      (read Noli's 12 other reviews) 21 out of 35 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Confused about yardage listing 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
When I first saw Rueca, the yardage was listed at about 150 yards. Then I saw the product description here on Jimmy Beans that said '285 yards minimum'. I ordered six skeins, which should easily be enough for a sweater, but upon measuring the skeins measuring length of skein, double that, and multiply by number of strands. Divide by 36 for yards my skeins averaged 123 yards! Minimum being 87 a thinker strand skein and the highest being 164 much thinner strands, for a total of 782 yards total for my six skeins. I love the thick/thin of this yarn, and understand how this impacts the yardage, but based on that sample 285 as a minimum is incorrect and misleading.
By AmyKlaire on Aug 15, 2015      (read AmyKlaire's 1 other review) 24 out of 37 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great deal, lots of texture 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I generally love Malabrigo yarn, and Rueca is no exception. I ordered two skeins of Polar Morn, and one each of Indiecita, Archangel and Natural. None are scratchy in the slightest, and all have fabulous, rich colors and beautiful thick-and-thin texture. Do be warned that each skein is spun to a slightly different tension, and none of them really match. Best for small, one skein projects.
By Ali Bee on Aug 14, 2015      (read Ali Bee's 1 other review) 14 out of 31 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
A bit pricey for what it is 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
Don't get me wrong- I love the rustic look of this and enjoyed knitting it. It was perfect for Benjamin Matthews Lavanda Cowl and I did order a third skein to finish, with lots left over. Please be sure when pulling these skeins that you check under the ties to be sure that there is not a solid white space underneath. I was able to work around it for the fringe,but otherwise would have had to return it. And while it was soft, a beautiful color and worked up well,still would not pay full price for it-only WW. ,
By onmyhonor on Jul 16, 2015      (read onmyhonor's 95 other reviews) 25 out of 46 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Rueca is awesome! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love this yarn! I like its texture, the thick- & thin-ness of it and the surprise in color nuances. Expect the unexpected with this soft and wonderful yarn. No matchy-matchy sameness here, just great adventures in fibering!
By Yarnplenty on May 15, 2015      (read Yarnplenty's 1 other review) 17 out of 47 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Texture and Color 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Malabrigo has such amazing colors and texture, softness and yarns that how can you go wrong. Works for me! :
By luvdot on Apr 28, 2015      (read luvdot's 30 other reviews) 27 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Colors! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Yes this is a little thick and thin, this yarn has so much character and the colors are amazing.! Just need to pick right project for it because each skein is hand dyed , it is too hard to match, even in same dye lot. So use for one skein project or alternate skeins.
By go marilyn on Mar 09, 2015      (read go marilyn's 193 other reviews) 42 out of 76 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Horrible Uneven Spinning 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
Yarn thickness varies from 1/16 to 1/4 diameter in places. If you prefer an even fabric, then don't chose this yarn. Got this as part of the sweet potato cowl kit. Love the Fyberfates DK that came with the kit. Hate this Rueca! Unless you want an uneven sloppy project, skip this.
By knittinggirl on Jan 26, 2015      (read knittinggirl's 1 other review) 31 out of 67 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Color not true to picture 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
Until now Jimmy Beans Wool has done an excellent job in photographing yarn in such a way that the true color is captured... until now. I purchased Rueca in Hojas. The picture made it look like a midnight blue with dark green highlights. What I got was two skeins of forest green with pea green accents, and one skein that borders on dark teal with forest green highlights. They were all from the same dye lot. I'm very disappointed.
By GardenMommy on Jan 06, 2015      (read GardenMommy's 1 other review) 31 out of 65 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more! Jimmy Beans Wool is Your Local Yarn Store... Online!

ab