FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $4 U.S. ship on ALL others.

Malabrigo Mechita Yarn Reviews

Mechita, and Mechita Speckled, the fingering weight versions of Mecha, are single-ply, 100% Superwash Merino wool. Skillfully hand-dyed in Malabrigo's distinct colors and incredibly soft to the touch, Mechita is bound to become your go-to choice for a variety of projects!

PLEASE NOTE: This yarn is dyed in dye lots of five skeins only. We are happy to visually match hanks for consistency should you need more than 5 skeins for a project, but we are unable to get more than 5 skeins per dye lot.


$20.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 
Gauge (sts. / inch):
6.5-7.5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Merino
US Needle:
1-2
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
420    Knitting Calculator  See Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Kettle Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Mechita Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 based on 17 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I haven’t started to use it yet, but it looks and feels wonderful.
By Clare on Dec 17, 2018      (read Clare's 5 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By JB21 on Dec 04, 2018      (read JB21's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Amergwyn on Sep 01, 2018      (read Amergwyn's 12 other reviews) 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Amergwyn on May 29, 2018      (read Amergwyn's 12 other reviews) 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful yarn. 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soft, lovely and a dream to knit with!!
By mariesbirds on May 07, 2018      (read mariesbirds's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Enjoyed working with this yarn 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I chose this yarn in Unicornio as I wanted a less variegated and dark color so that lighter colors worn underneath would make the pattern pop - Artesian shawl by Romi Hill - and it did. Love the result and softness of the shawl. The color is perfect to wear with jeans as it is a subtle blue with some lighter beige shading. I used only one skein, expecting the shawl to be a little smaller than the pattern suggested. Two skeins and adding stitches to the pattern would have been best. Four stars because I haven't worn it often enough to judge.
By ThereseRA on Jan 09, 2018      (read ThereseRA's 11 other reviews) 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
Had trouble caking up each of the skeins, once I started knitting I loved the fabric it was creating, lovely drape and stitch definition.
By Sculletta on Aug 29, 2017      (read Sculletta's 2 other reviews) 13 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By craftycryptid on Aug 24, 2017      (read craftycryptid's 1 other review) 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By daisy00 on Aug 10, 2017      (read daisy00's 3 other reviews) 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful yarn! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love how soft this yarn is and the color is gorgeous!
By Mary Lynne on May 03, 2017      (read Mary Lynne's 2 other reviews) 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
ab