Malabrigo Mechita Yarn Reviews

Mechita, and Mechita Speckled, the fingering weight versions of Mecha, are single-ply, 100% Superwash Merino wool. Skillfully hand-dyed in Malabrigo's distinct colors and incredibly soft to the touch, Mechita is bound to become your go-to choice for a variety of projects!

PLEASE NOTE: This yarn is dyed in dye lots of five skeins only. We are happy to visually match hanks for consistency should you need more than 5 skeins for a project, but we are unable to get more than 5 skeins per dye lot.


$20.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 
Gauge (sts. / inch):
6.5-7.5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Merino
US Needle:
1-2
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
420    Knitting Calculator  See Knitting Calculator
Color Family:
  Grey
Color Group:
  Earth Tones
Color Temp:
  Cool
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Kettle Dyed
Dye Result:
  Tonal
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Mechita Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars (4.7 based on 15 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Amergwyn on Sep 01, 2018      (read Amergwyn's 12 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Amergwyn on May 29, 2018      (read Amergwyn's 12 other reviews) 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful yarn. 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soft, lovely and a dream to knit with!!
By mariesbirds on May 07, 2018      (read mariesbirds's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Enjoyed working with this yarn 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I chose this yarn in Unicornio as I wanted a less variegated and dark color so that lighter colors worn underneath would make the pattern pop - Artesian shawl by Romi Hill - and it did. Love the result and softness of the shawl. The color is perfect to wear with jeans as it is a subtle blue with some lighter beige shading. I used only one skein, expecting the shawl to be a little smaller than the pattern suggested. Two skeins and adding stitches to the pattern would have been best. Four stars because I haven't worn it often enough to judge.
By ThereseRA on Jan 09, 2018      (read ThereseRA's 11 other reviews) 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
Had trouble caking up each of the skeins, once I started knitting I loved the fabric it was creating, lovely drape and stitch definition.
By Sculletta on Aug 29, 2017      (read Sculletta's 2 other reviews) 13 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By craftycryptid on Aug 24, 2017      (read craftycryptid's 1 other review) 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By daisy00 on Aug 10, 2017      (read daisy00's 3 other reviews) 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful yarn! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love how soft this yarn is and the color is gorgeous!
By Mary Lynne on May 03, 2017      (read Mary Lynne's 2 other reviews) 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By jenndela on Apr 19, 2017      (read jenndela's 9 other reviews) 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Great yarn, nice touch, perfect finish.
By clauhori on Nov 16, 2016      (read clauhori's 4 other reviews) 15 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!

Jimmy Beans Wool is Your Local Yarn Store... Online!

ab