Malabrigo Arroyo Yarn - 139 Pocion Reviews

Malabrigo Arroyo Yarn - 139 Pocion
139 Pocion shown $18.40
We are all in love with Arroyo yarn! With its generous yardage (335) and super wash properties it will quickly become your favorite too. Use it for everything from socks to baby blankets.

PLEASE NOTE: This yarn is dyed in dye lots of five skeins only. We are happy to visually match hanks for consistency should you need more than 5 skeins for a project, but we are unable to get more than 5 skeins per dye lot.

$18.40
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 139 Pocion)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5-6
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Merino Wool
US Needle:
4-6
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
335    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Kettle Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Arroyo Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars (4.7 based on 41 reviews)

Color wasn''t even close 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
I purchased two skeins of this yarn and it was dull and dark. No where near the description of the color.
By Dr Joy on Dec 01, 2016      (read Dr Joy's 1 other review) 4 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By MShinn on Sep 14, 2016      (read MShinn's 5 other reviews) 6 out of 11 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Arroyo 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This yarn creates a soft, squishy fabric that is perfect for hats and gloves! My one complaint about it is that there is a small amount of pilling. I use this yarn whenever I knit children's cold weather garments because the fabric care is so simple and it really creates a warm piece to keep those heads and hands nice and cozy. I most recently knit a black beanie with this yarn. I've never knitted with black yarn I avoid it at all cost because I have lots of cats ! so I'm not sure if this is a common issue, but my fingers would turn black from working with it.
By jaimeloo24 on Sep 10, 2016      (read jaimeloo24's 2 other reviews) 105 out of 145 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By starlighthawaii on Jul 26, 2016      (read starlighthawaii's 5 other reviews) 5 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
significant color variation even within the dye lot 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I just made a sweater using the Arco Iris color, which is really fun to work with, as with each row, different colors play together, so even with a simple stitch, the work is never boring. However, I have only given this a 4 rating, because there was a huge variation between the skeins, even of the same dye lot. One was dominated by purples, blues and greens my favorite, others more by pinks, browns and yellows, with hardly any blues, etc. I kept changing yarn every few rows so the finished work looks even, color wise, so there was no real problem in the end, it was just a bit tedious.
By Cassiope Fastigiata on Apr 24, 2016      (read Cassiope Fastigiata's 1 other review) 7 out of 15 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Sandy Rushforth on Feb 04, 2016      (read Sandy Rushforth's 14 other reviews) 7 out of 13 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
I do love me some malabrigo 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
malabrigo has amazing color depth. The yarn is well made, and I have used several skeins and yet to find a knot. I used this skein for my color affection and it turned out beautiful. http://www.ravelry.com/projects/yarning4asmile/color-affection
By yarning4asmile on Feb 02, 2016      (read yarning4asmile's 4 other reviews) 28 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Malabrigo, arryo, a favorite for sure 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
Arryo is not my favorite of the malabrigo but it is on my top ten list for yarn that is for sure! I ordered a few color ways and was delighted at the way pocion worked up. just beautiful! Im giving it a four out of five only because I had a few moments of splitting which I didnt expect. Malabrigo yarn is probably the yarn I will turn to first for hat and sweater making, due to the price to quality ratio
By Esturtz27 on Jan 19, 2016      (read Esturtz27's 18 other reviews) 13 out of 28 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
DK? 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I'm not sure how this and Malabrigo Silky Merino can both be DK. They are so different that I can only make sense of it if they are made by two different companies. Arroyo is much closer to Fingering weight while Silky Merino is definitely a worsted weight yarn. I've been told that I'm the only one to bring this up !?!? but if you're planning a project that calls for a DK weight yarn be aware of the discrepancy here. That being said they are still both in my top 10 list.
By podgrrrl on Dec 30, 2015      (read podgrrrl's 4 other reviews) 16 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
I'm in love 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn's colorway works up so beautifully, that I've stocked up on it - in other colorways - Keep it coming, please and this review is explicitly for Arroyo
By gfigwife on Dec 15, 2015      (read gfigwife's 14 other reviews) 16 out of 30 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!