Madelinetosh Prairie Short Skeins Yarn - Grasshopper Reviews

Madelinetosh Prairie Short Skeins Yarn - Grasshopper
Grasshopper shown
Sorry, but specific product you requested is not currently available. Hopefully you can find another option below.
*LIMITED EDITION* Grab these short skeins while you can! Once we're sold out, we're out.

Prairie Short Skeins are the same deliciously soft 100% superwash merino wool, single-ply, lace weight yarn as the regular Prairie - they're just 100 yards short of a normal skein! This fabulous yarn works up into a lovely lofty and drapey fabric that is perfect for a lace weight project. Each squishy soft skein is hand-dyed in small dye lots and machine washable!

$20.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Grasshopper)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
n/a
Physical Weight:
110g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Merino Wool
US Needle:
0-6
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Lace (33 sts or more/4 in)
Yardage:
740    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Eco:
  Ethically SourcedOrganic Dye
Feel:
  Buttery
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Just at Jimmy's:
  Yes
Origin:
  USA
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Prairie Short Skeins Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 based on 35 reviews)

Lovely as always 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I've loved all tosh I've worked with, I think. Prairie in particular feels quite sturdy for a lace-weight yarn. It knits up into a nice soft fabric, but not so delicate you're afraid to touch it. Nice drape, and vibrant colors!
By jennymarie5 on Jun 13, 2016      (read jennymarie5's 8 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
By SewKat on Jun 06, 2016      (read SewKat's 3 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Jen K on May 10, 2016      (read Jen K's 5 other reviews) 2 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very soft, but not good for manipulation 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
Beautiful soft yarn, gorgeous color saturation. I've seen this yarn used on lacier projects with great effect, but I bought it specifically for a manipulation-heavy double knitting project, and when you manipulate this yarn, it gets fuzzy. Might have just been a poor yarn choice on my part for this particular project, but this yard does not have a lot of twist, so pick your projects accordingly.
By Sarah Freedman on Feb 08, 2016      (read Sarah Freedman's 1 other review) 9 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By nanajanise on Sep 08, 2015      (read nanajanise's 9 other reviews) 6 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By ellenmay on Jun 10, 2015      (read ellenmay's 8 other reviews) 10 out of 26 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Have picked up several of these for stash 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
While not my favorite tosh yarn lace-discontinued they are perfect for shawls - just make sure you have some vinegar on hand for the green and blue shades. Short skeins have plenty to do most shawls.
By Are on Jun 05, 2015      (read Are's 12 other reviews) 28 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Edison Bulb 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Perfect color for my daughter in law. I love the tarn and the short skeins!
By Phyll2001 on May 13, 2015      (read Phyll2001's 4 other reviews) 16 out of 41 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Color Extraordinaire! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
It's MadTosh- no need to go further.
By LASS on Mar 02, 2015      (read LASS's 49 other reviews) 16 out of 34 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
loved the workability of this yarn, but not the smell 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
The color is beautiful I doubled it, using a strand from each end and subtly variegated. It springs back and has give when you pull it, which is great for my too tight knitting style. The only thing I could have wished for would be a less harsh vinegar smell both during knitting and after 2 washings with Eucalan. It's not a deal breaker for me by any stretch, but still- strong enough to be commented on repeatedly by family and friends :/ Fabric made from this washes very well- proud to be giving the end product as a gift.
By hyblaean on Oct 15, 2013      (read hyblaean's 4 other reviews) 21 out of 42 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!