FREE U.S. Flat Rate shipping on orders over $75! $5 U.S. ship on ALL others.

Madelinetosh 2019 Tosh Shawl KAL: Sunshower Shawl Reviews

The 2019 Tosh Shawl KAL: Sunshower Shawl features yarn that we LOVE, Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light, and a stunning shawl pattern, Sunshower, designed by Ambah O'Brien! Available in 2 color choices, Designer's Choice OR Jimmy's Choice, you're sure to enjoy this 12-month KAL with us!

Treat yourself to an ongoing monthly subscription starting at $10.00 (shipping included!) for our U.S. customers, or pre-pay for a 12-month gift subscription.

Ships between the 26th and end of each month!

Color Choices:

  • Designer's Choice (original colors used by the designer)
  • Jimmy's Choice (purples, pinks, teals, and greys)

For $10 each month, you'll receive:
  • One 80 yard sample of Tosh Merino Light in your color selection (Designer's Choice OR Jimmy's Choice)
  • A pattern card including that month's instructions for Sunshower, designed by Ambah O'Brien
  • All packaged in a custom Jimmy Beans box!
  • EXTRA Tosh Shawl KAL Perks: Enjoy a complimentary 10 yard sample of each month's 2019 Limited Edition Tosh colorway, and, if you order a 12-Month Gift Subscription (or purchase all 12 months of the project!), you'll receive a FREE gift in December 2019!

**Please note: The 2019 Tosh Shawl KAL is a 12-month progressive project, beginning in January 2019. In order to complete the project in its entirety, Club members who join after the first month has already been shipped will receive the previous month(s) contents. This means that new subscribers will be billed upfront for any prior month of the 12-month window.
You can also view all Madelinetosh 2019 Tosh Shawl KAL: Sunshower Shawl.


From $10.00 to $120.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 
Additional Info:
This option is paid upfront, but works out to $10.00/month. After 12 months, the subscription will end (does not renew automatically). Each shipment contains one 80 yard sample of Tosh Merino Light from the color scheme Designer's Choice.
Category:
Subscriptions
Difficulty:
Intermediate
Overall 2019 Tosh Shawl KAL: Sunshower Shawl Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars (4.4 based on 31 reviews)

Choose a specific product:
Ups and downs 2 out of 5 stars (2 out of 5)
I enjoyed last year's KAL and was surprised when I started receiving this KAL, I didn't know it would carry over, but it was a pleasant surprise. I liked the first 2 months, then I realized I had be defaulted to Jimmy's choice colors and not the designer's choice. No big, I think I'll like it. But then the March box was only 14 rows and the April box is only 10 rows. It is just such a small bit of knitting for the month and for the price. I feel trapped, because to cancel the subscription leaves me with a third of a shawl and small amounts of 4 balls of yarn that has been cut after every step. I'll be sure to cancel in December so that I don't have the small experience next year.
By TKknits on May 07, 2019      (read TKknits's 1 other review) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Jimmy's Choice 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
I am not a fan of yarn chicken ☹️ 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
The pattern is fun and I look forward to each months shipment, however, PLEASE, send enough yarn for each section... I had less than 12” of Color 2 left, I do not like playing yarn chicken, whomever is preparing the yarn needs to be a bit more generous as my gauge was a tad smaller than the pattern called for I stayed with the recommended needles, glad I did or I would have run out.
By Joyfull68 on Apr 06, 2019      (read Joyfull68's 1 other review) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Designer's Choice 185 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love this shawl so far! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I chose the designers choice color option and am very impressed with the yarn and pattern directions. I had to redo the first section because I knit the DS rows too tightly my first experience with short rows, but the second attempt knit up quickly and with the perfect tension. The yarn for the second section of the shawl was beautiful and the directions were easy to follow. I can't wait to receive the next shipment!
By Tilbird on Apr 01, 2019      (read Tilbird's 5 other reviews) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Designer's Choice 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Just wish there were a picture... 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
This is my first KAL, and I'm enjoying the yarn and the project. I just wish there were a picture of the finished project in the Jimmy's Choice colorway. Although I generally like surprises, I don't like the idea of knitting up a shawl where I don't know what the end product is going to look like. Can we get a picture of this version, please?
By CaseyBear01 on Mar 11, 2019      (read CaseyBear01's 1 other review) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Jimmy's Choice 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By cindykrak on Mar 08, 2019      (read cindykrak's 1 other review) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Designer's Choice No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful Shawl, Fun Knit Along 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Love the Shawl KAL concept and the opportunity to work with the lovely Tosh yarn. As an added bonus, with a little effort each month, I'll have a gorgeous shawl in time for holiday gift giving. While I didn't immediately recognize all the knitting stitches in the directions, a quick youtube search made it easy to get up to speed quickly.
By Sharon PDX on Mar 05, 2019      (read Sharon PDX's 1 other review) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Designer's Choice No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yarn shortage 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
It was pretty clear that I was going to run out of yarn for the first section, so to get the right stitch count going into section 2, I needed to add stitches in the last few rows. I ended up with the yo's in the wrong place, so the pattern will be a little wonky. I can live with that and call it a design element. However, if I don't have enough yarn for part 2, I will have to cancel this subscription. One would think they wouldn't skimp on the yarn for a year-long project!
By SistersKnit on Mar 01, 2019      (read SistersKnit's 1 other review) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Designer's Choice 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Lizzie Jacob on Feb 26, 2019      (read Lizzie Jacob's 11 other reviews) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Jimmy's Choice No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By SherldaM on Feb 23, 2019      (read SherldaM's 3 other reviews) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Jimmy's Choice No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Tosh Shawl KAL January 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I love anything Tosh! The pattern is coming along. I learned how to do a German Short Row. I can’t wait for the next package.
By SherldaM on Feb 23, 2019      (read SherldaM's 3 other reviews) Product reviewed: *Monthly* Auto-Renew Subscription - Jimmy's Choice No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
ab