Hand Maiden Sea Silk Yarn - Hemlock Reviews

Hand Maiden Sea Silk Yarn - Hemlock
Hemlock shown $50.00
Luxurious, hand-dyed in Canada, each hank is one of a kind! Perfect for lacy projects with sheen and a beautiful drape thanks to the silk and Seacell (a cellulose based fiber made from seaweed) composition.

$50.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Hemlock)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
70% Silk 30% Seacell
US Needle:
2
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
437    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Feel:
  Silky
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Canada
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  High Shine
Softness:
  Super Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Sea Silk Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 based on 49 reviews)

Absolutely gorgeous, rich, soft, luxurious 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I absolutely love this yarn. I just received my third order, this time in colorway Masala my previous two colorways were Peridot and Bronze. The sheen is so beautiful, the colors are saturated, and the yarn is so silky. I haven't yet completed a project with this, so I can't speak to blocking which I imagine will be somewhat challenging due to the silk content, but the half-finished stole and shawl that I am currently working on are so incredibly soft. Even a light brush by the garment against the skin feels so silky soft, and the drape is of course beautiful. I know that I will really treasure the finished items that I make with this, and that I can consider them heirloom quality. I've also decided that this will be my yarn of choice if I have the opportunity to make a beautiful wedding shawl for any future brides in my circle.
By JFaye on Jan 07, 2014      (read JFaye's 3 other reviews) 23 out of 45 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Danielle955 on Dec 28, 2013      (read Danielle955's 8 other reviews) 13 out of 24 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Beautiful yarn to knit with very soft
By Danielle955 on Dec 28, 2013      (read Danielle955's 8 other reviews) 23 out of 41 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By lindateg on Sep 16, 2013      (read lindateg's 37 other reviews) 17 out of 29 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love the drape 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Love the drape of this yarn, but if it is picked, it has a white core.
By lindateg on Sep 16, 2013      (read lindateg's 37 other reviews) 26 out of 44 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
I just want to hold it. 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Such a beautiful texture, I can't wait to work with it.
By lindateg on Apr 30, 2013      (read lindateg's 37 other reviews) 9 out of 26 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
picture makes the colors more brilliant 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
I have ordered gobs of yarn from here and this is the first I have ordered anything and been disappointed with it. The texture feels nice but the colors are a very drab version of whats pictured. I know you always take a chance that its not going to be exact but I don't think I would be exaggerating when I say that its night and day. The only time the sheen shows up is with a fluorescent light. Other than that its a dull flat coloring. Dont order November Sky if you want those vibrant colors in the picture, or at least beware when ordering!!!
By pbjs82 on Jan 31, 2013      (read pbjs82's 1 other review) 27 out of 44 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Sea Silk is sooo beautiful and easy to work with.
By AnitaM on Aug 28, 2012      (read AnitaM's 27 other reviews) 6 out of 18 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Nice! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By MarinKnitter on Aug 15, 2012      (read MarinKnitter's 7 other reviews) 15 out of 28 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Can't say enough about this yarn!! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is amazing!!! I could write for hours about how great it is and still not give it enough credit. It's soft without being overly slippery, it has fantastic stitch definition, and makes beautiful lace without pooling. LOVE, LOVE LOVE!
By Laurie W. on Jun 25, 2012      (read Laurie W.'s 72 other reviews) 6 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!