Crystal Palace Chunky Mochi Yarn - 818 Blueberry Pancakes Reviews

Crystal Palace Chunky Mochi Yarn - 818 Blueberry Pancakes
818 Blueberry Pancakes shown
Sorry, but specific product you requested is not currently available. Hopefully you can find another option below.
Chunky Mochi is the "big brother" of Mini Mochi and Mochi Plus. It has the same beautiful self striping bands of color that we have really come to love. Now it knits up pretty quickly at 2.75 to 3.5 stitches per inch!

$8.80
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 818 Blueberry Pancakes)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
3
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Secondary Fiber:
Nylon
Specific Fiber:
80% Merino Wool - 20% nylon
US Needle:
11
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Bulky (12-15 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
49    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Single Ply
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Put Up:
  Ball
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Chunky Mochi Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars (4.6 based on 37 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Love it!
By GrammaStar on Jan 30, 2014      (read GrammaStar's 4 other reviews) 19 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Chunky Mocha Separates 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
I bought several of this yarn because I wanted to knit one of those adorable ribbed hats for my great-grandson. However, as I worked with it it seemed to separate where the colors same together... just came apart with a gentle tug. This is the third time in a row that I have seriously thought about sending yarn back to Jimmy. Am I just in a yarn slump or are others having the same problems with this yarn?
By gjk on Dec 26, 2013      (read gjk's 30 other reviews) 24 out of 51 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Simmone on Oct 09, 2013      (read Simmone's 2 other reviews) 24 out of 58 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love everything about it !! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I ordered this yarn and it is wonderful !!! I am making cuffs for Christmas presents and this yarn is good for boys and girls !!
By Simmone on Oct 09, 2013      (read Simmone's 2 other reviews) 18 out of 43 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Grammalyn on Sep 26, 2013      (read Grammalyn's 1 other review) 25 out of 57 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By grantr on May 08, 2013      (read grantr's 12 other reviews) 25 out of 43 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Made a chunky hat...loved it!!
By Alice Garrett on Apr 16, 2013      (read Alice Garrett's 3 other reviews) 0 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Softer than other Mochi yarns! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Chunky Mochi, for some reason, is noticeably softer than either Mochi Plus or Mini Mochi--I have no idea why. Another difference perhaps related to the softness? is that, although the fiber content of all 3 yarns is listed as the same, the 2 lighter weights can be machine-washed, but the chunky version requires hand-washing. No one seems to know why--it's just something to bear in mind. It is heaven to work with, but DO recall that it is single-ply, and therefore, essentially like roving. When making a knot while finishing off, I thought I was tugging gently, but it shredded right in my hands. Just be aware--but I wouldn't allow that to prevent me from using it again. And of course whatever you're making will fly. I used a size 11 to make a child's cowl, and it was done in a flash. Highly recommend this yarn.
By MDTechWriter on Jan 07, 2013      (read MDTechWriter's 12 other reviews) 3 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Luscious! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soooo soft, beautiful color. I wish I could knit faster, so I can hurry up and wear this scarf!
By DMatsu on Nov 11, 2012      (read DMatsu's 1 other review) 1 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
One of my favorite yarns. 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I have been using this yarn for awhile now. It is so soft and works up beautifully. The colors are gorgeous and they keep adding more. I am generally not a huge fan of self striping yarns, but this has changed my mind. The only negative I can think of is that it pulls apart/breaks rather easily since it's a loosely spun single ply. A tight knitter may have issues with breakage. Once it is knit up it is very sturdy though.
By whempsey on Aug 06, 2012      (read whempsey's 1 other review) 3 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!