Cascade Alpaca Lace Yarn - 1414 Charcoal Reviews

Cascade Alpaca Lace Yarn - 1414 Charcoal
1414 Charcoal shown $10.00
Beautiful, heavenly soft 100% baby alpaca laceweight in solid colors.  Read the full description...

$10.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 1414 Charcoal)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Alpaca
Specific Fiber:
100% Baby Alpaca
US Needle:
2
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Lace (33 sts or more/4 in)
Yardage:
437    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Silky
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Soft Shine
Softness:
  Super Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Alpaca Lace Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars (4.4 based on 29 reviews)

Maybe I'm Spoiled 2 out of 5 stars (2 out of 5)
I bought this to make a scarf and hat set for my niece. I thought it would be a nice cheaper alternative to Malabrigo Baby Silkpaca lace yarn, but maybe I'm spoiled from working with the silkpace because I do not like the alpaca lace at all. It is not as soft, and it kept splitting. I'm hoping I can trade with someone on Ravelry for something else as I now have 3 skeins left of a yarn I do not enjoy working with. The two stars are for the lack of knots and breaks in the yarn itself and the color being exactly what was expected. The color is lovely. Not a good yarn for me though.
By Pshafe on May 27, 2013      (read Pshafe's 3 other reviews) 16 out of 48 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love the yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This yarn is so soft and light. Made a shawl and absolutely beautiful. Fairly new lace knitter but got the hang of working with it quickly.
By Monzi on Feb 03, 2013      (read Monzi's 13 other reviews) 24 out of 54 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
By lo51socklint on Jan 31, 2013      (read lo51socklint's 1 other review) 15 out of 18 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
nice feel 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Have not used yet...it is for my stash. color matches other yarn in stash.
By cskend on Jan 28, 2013      (read cskend's 22 other reviews) 11 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lovely 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This worked up so nicely in my project. The drape was so soft, the color was rich, and the yarn did not pill despite a pleasant soft fuzz to it. The skein was a bit hard to deal with while balling it up, and I highly recommend working with a buddy to get the task accomplished.
By cathymadjaric on Jan 15, 2013      (read cathymadjaric's 1 other review) 13 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful colors 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I wasn't sure what this yarn was going to look like when I ordered it, but I was not disappointed when I got it. It works up quickly, despite being lace yarn, and the slight halo adds some visual interest without being too fluffy. It has excellent drape as well. Will be ordering again!
By Molly Laine on Dec 03, 2012      (read Molly Laine's 2 other reviews) 3 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
By weavessence on Nov 16, 2012      (read weavessence's 10 other reviews) 14 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Cascade Alpaca Lace Yarn 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I bought this yarn to pair with a Debbie Bliss Angel kidsilk so I could make subtle color changes over the course of a shawl. I am using it in a single strand, with the kidsilk on size 6 needles. I am knitting a shawl in stockinette with occasional rows of lace patterning. This yarn is knitting up beautifully. It is soft,light and warm. The color Lake Chelan is heathery and welcomes the kidsilk to create a sense of light play across the shawl. It is easy to tink if need be : and just looks inviting and lovely.
By weavessence on Nov 15, 2012      (read weavessence's 10 other reviews) 16 out of 33 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By MargieM on Jun 04, 2012      (read MargieM's 13 other reviews) 12 out of 23 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By rhands on May 30, 2012      (read rhands's 2 other reviews) 14 out of 21 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!