Blue Sky Fibers Alpaca Silk Yarn Reviews

A premium sport-weight blend of 50% superfine alpaca and 50% silk.  Read the full description...


$15.58
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 
Gauge (sts. / inch):
5-6
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Alpaca
Secondary Fiber:
Silk
Specific Fiber:
50% superfine alpaca, 50% silk
US Needle:
3-5
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash
Weight:
Sport (24-26 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
146    Knitting Calculator  See Knitting Calculator
Behavior:
  Sheds
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Silky
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Soft Shine
Softness:
  Super Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / UniformSoft Halo
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Alpaca Silk Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 based on 45 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By DjBeck on Dec 05, 2011      (read DjBeck's 16 other reviews) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By haraf1 on Sep 12, 2011      (read haraf1's 7 other reviews) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
very soft, nice to crochet
By alessia on Sep 07, 2011      (read alessia's 11 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Beautiful colors great drape and does not pill
By go marilyn on Sep 07, 2011      (read go marilyn's 197 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Beautiful yarn, but not for my project. 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I ordered this as an alternative to Lorna's Laces Honor for a vest project. It turned out to be too fine I needed something bulkier to get the right look and achieve the gauge. However, it's gorgeous. Maybe I'll try it for something else.
By Nero on Aug 30, 2011      (read Nero's 5 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love in a skein? 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Perhaps...I'm working on a shawl this yarn, it's knitting up so beautifully!
By Leusch on May 02, 2011      (read Leusch's 7 other reviews) 1 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
While knitting with this yarn, I thought it was going to be a little too heavy looking, but after it was blocked, it was just right. Shawlette is nice and soft, not at all itchy on neck. Occasionally split while knitting.
By Gayle on Mar 08, 2011      (read Gayle's 17 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By lizykat on Dec 21, 2010      (read lizykat's 5 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
fab yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
this is a lovely yarn to knit with, has a nice drape, but enough stability that it holds shape. I have knit 4 berets with this and I highly recommend this yarn.
By lizykat on Dec 21, 2010      (read lizykat's 5 other reviews) 2 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Silky Soft 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This yarn is very nice. It is soft and has a nice sheen. The only thing I don't like about the yarn is that it doesn't stretch and bounce back like wool.
By Knitnut813 on Nov 17, 2010      (read Knitnut813's 4 other reviews) 3 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

We provide endless possibilities for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more! Jimmy Beans Wool is Your Local Yarn Store... Online!

ab