Tosh Chunky Yarn Review and Rating

View all Madelinetosh Yarn
Overall Tosh Chunky Yarn Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars (4.8 out of 5) Write Reviews Write a review
Back to Tosh Chunky Yarn.
 View previous reviews    View more reviews
  11 of 30 
 Review by: MaddieK     (read MaddieK's 23 other reviews) Jan 21, 2014 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
 19 out of 27 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 great yarn but color issues 12 of 30 
 Review by: kyblue     (read kyblue's 1 other reviews) Dec 05, 2013 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This is a great yarn. Love it for hats. I ordered a red color and it was an amazing red, consistent color throughout. Based on this experience I ordered a 'cobalt.' Received it and it is navy. Navy is not cobalt. Very disappointed. And, not dyed consistently - there is some white. I would buy in a brick and mortar store, if there was one near me that carried it. I'd suggest calling before ordering if you are picky about color. Would definitely give this yarn a 5 if not for the color problems.
 11 out of 24 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Great 13 of 30 
 Review by: Kelly Perfect     (read Kelly Perfect's 6 other reviews) Dec 04, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soft, beautiful and gorgeous colors.
 7 out of 11 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Great 14 of 30 
 Review by: KnittAddiction     (read KnittAddiction's 7 other reviews) Nov 26, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Soft, beautiful and gorgeous colors.
 3 out of 5 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 NICE! 15 of 30 
 Review by: KnittAddiction     (read KnittAddiction's 7 other reviews) Nov 26, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I like it much better than Vintage. Soft, blocked well but not too drapey! Will definitely use it much much more!
 5 out of 7 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 NICE! 16 of 30 
 Review by: thinkyarn     (read thinkyarn's 15 other reviews) Feb 21, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
My first time to purchase the chunky weight of Madelinetosh. I used this on a highly cabled scarf and the texture really popped. The slight variations of color gave the fabric depth and interest...a great yarn choice for my project.
 1 out of 1 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Haven't Used Yet but Love It 17 of 30 
 Review by: coffeeiv     (read coffeeiv's 16 other reviews) Jan 22, 2013 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
This was emergency yarn ordered when I thought another yarn was out of stock from another company. The other came in, so I used that, but I will use this yarn. The only reason I'm not using it immediately is that I did two other Christmas gifts with this color in different yarns - one was a huge sweater - and I'm sick of the color right now. Maybe this fall I'll do another infinity scarf.
 4 out of 9 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Thin Chunky 18 of 30 
 Review by: Glacierflame     (read Glacierflame's 6 other reviews) Aug 30, 2012 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I really like this yarn but it is on the light side of chunky so if using it in a pattern that calls for Chunky you might want to knit one size up. When I tried simply knitting it on larger needles the fabric was too loose and drapey.
 9 out of 12 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Yummie 19 of 30 
 Review by: Glacierflame     (read Glacierflame's 6 other reviews) Jul 24, 2012 
 Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Made Mittens out of this and love it. It is on the thinner side of chunky so I did have to adjust my pattern a bit for this.
 8 out of 20 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 Work 2 skeins of yarn on a time 20 of 30 
 Review by: smknits     (read smknits's 5 other reviews) Jun 11, 2012 
 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I made the mistake of not heeding this advise as all the skeins looked alike. Of course there's inflections among the skeins but to the eye nothing definite. I was wrong. When I started the second skein after knitting 1.5 inches, you can definitely see a lighter color on the first skein versus the darker tone on the second. The handling of the yarn is lovely but the fact I need to undo my knitting and start anew is not.
 1 out of 8 found this review helpful  Do you think this review was helpful? 
 
 View previous reviews    View more reviews
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!