Universal Yarns Classic Shades Yarn - 712 Harvest Reviews

Universal Yarns Classic Shades Yarn - 712 Harvest
712 Harvest shown $7.50
The exquisite roving style of this wool and acrylic blend is perfect for artistic and sophisticated knits. A silky soft worsted weight yarn, Classic Shades is machine washable and comes in a variety of self-striping colorways.

$7.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 712 Harvest)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4-5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Acrylic
Secondary Fiber:
Wool
Specific Fiber:
70% Acrylic, 30% Wool
US Needle:
7-9
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
197    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Behavior:
  Splits
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Full
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Synthetic
Origin:
  Turkey
Put Up:
  Skein
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Low (Drapey)
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Classic Shades Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 based on 36 reviews)

Nice fiber and it is washable 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
It has been a long cold winter and knitting has kept me warm many evenings. I am working with some nice jewel toned colorways. The color changes are gradual which works nicely for my project. I am working on a modular afghan and can't wait to use this yarn for some pillows.
By Sue V on Feb 25, 2015      (read Sue V's 2 other reviews) 9 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Hnp on Jan 06, 2015      (read Hnp's 3 other reviews) 16 out of 34 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Watermelon 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
My skeins were mostly teal & some lime but with not much hot pink, more of a plum. However it made up with beautiful self striping. My 4th project with this yarn. It is an acrylic so crunches on the needles & can be splitty like a loose roving but the colors are fantastic. Excellent yards for $s.
By FurKnits on Nov 17, 2014      (read FurKnits's 57 other reviews) 29 out of 52 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Sailor's Delight 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I love the texture of this yarn. I found it very easy to knit with & didn't have a problem with split stitches that many people were worried about. I loved the colors showing on the. Outside of the skein which were a vibrant blue & pink mixed with orange, however with my finished hat, 90 % of the skein seems to be a cross between orange! dark grey and blah looking colors. There was in the end very little of the nice colors ghost. I could see from the outside. For this I am disappointed in the yarn.
By Tonya B. on Sep 14, 2014      (read Tonya B.'s 1 other review) 21 out of 37 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Soft and Great Colors 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I used this yarn for a collar pattern that uses Noro Silk Gardens. This is a much softer substitute. The colors self-stripe Lake blends beautifully from blues to purples, Sunset blends bright oranges and violet. Super soft and machine washable with a really reasonable price, who could ask for more. It is a single ply yarn which game me to splitting problems. This yarn now comes in a super bulky weight that looks like it shades just as beautifully in bright as well as more subtle colors. Can't wait to try it.
By gjk on Jun 29, 2014      (read gjk's 29 other reviews) 15 out of 42 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
By Priyanka Champaneri on Dec 19, 2013      (read Priyanka Champaneri's 3 other reviews) 12 out of 40 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Great colors 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I love the color changes in this yarn - very consistent and vibrant.
By Priyanka Champaneri on Dec 19, 2013      (read Priyanka Champaneri's 3 other reviews) 10 out of 32 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
By Vickizach on Oct 23, 2013      (read Vickizach's 2 other reviews) 10 out of 36 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Not bad 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I love the softness of this wool, but the downside is that its single ply and is easy to split with your needle when knitting.
By Vickizach on Oct 23, 2013      (read Vickizach's 2 other reviews) 7 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Difficult to correct an error 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
It is just about impossible to tink...undo stitches if you make a mistake. Also although I love the coloring and that is why I purchased it, I have a feeling it is going to pill horribly.
By Pixie elf on Sep 05, 2013      (read Pixie elf's 2 other reviews) 11 out of 19 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!