Rowan Pure Wool 4 ply Yarn - 402 - Shale Reviews

Rowan Pure Wool 4 ply Yarn - 402 - Shale
402 - Shale shown $8.50
Pure Wool 4 Ply is an addition to the Rowan Pure Wool family. This 100% superwash, machine washable, wool knits on size US 3 needles to a standard 4 ply tension.

$8.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 402 - Shale)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
100% Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Wool
US Needle:
3
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
174    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Crisp
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Romania
Put Up:
  Ball
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Pleasant
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  Medium
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Pure Wool 4 ply Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (4.0 based on 15 reviews)

Love this wool. 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
The color is a real pretty shade of pink...the picture doesn't do it justice.
By Suzguisa on Mar 03, 2015      (read Suzguisa's 2 other reviews) 5 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Disappointed by Pure Wool line AGAIN! 1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
I rarely feel bad enough about a yarn that I come back and leave a negative response but this is my 2nd bad experience with the Rowan's Pure Wool line. Both the 4 ply and the DK versions behave well UNTIL they are washed. Then the fabric becomes so limp that all stitch definition is lost. I understand that's the accepted compromise when using superwash wools but what is not acceptable is the amount the fabric grows measured in inches and completely changes the sizing. I did have some success with cautiously machine drying the 4-ply. But, this is baby gift and I doubt the parents will appreciate the involved care especially with a newborn in the house. Isn't that the point of using superwash, easier care? I expected more from Rowan... BTW, the dk project is a goner.
By capless on Nov 11, 2013      (read capless's 12 other reviews) 18 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Mrs. Ed on Sep 20, 2012      (read Mrs. Ed's 2 other reviews) 15 out of 34 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
By Yayyarn on May 14, 2012      (read Yayyarn's 2 other reviews) 7 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yarn Be Sure To Check 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
The yarn is simply lovely. I am knitting a pattern out of Knit Your Own Dog book which calls out this yarn. I should have asked if it was all wool, not super wash.
By 20GaugeBirdHunter on May 08, 2012      (read 20GaugeBirdHunter's 1 other review) 8 out of 24 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
superWash, superWear, superAll! 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
We all(hubby, daughters, son, friends) love this yarn! It's soft enough, and warm. I've knit a few fingerless mitts for family and friends, and everyone love it! Great stitch definition, great for cables, and most importantly, it's easy-care! I've washed it several times in washer, cold cycle, in lingerie bag, and even throw into dryer on low heat. It still came out looking like it's fresh off the needles. The reason I didn't give it 5 star is that it does tend to get splitty, especially after rip-back. Plus, it's not as fluffy soft as some other yarn, but hey.. it's superwash and durable!
By pk on Feb 22, 2012      (read pk's 11 other reviews) 7 out of 14 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Mary Griffitts on Sep 19, 2011      (read Mary Griffitts's 9 other reviews) 8 out of 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
rowan pure wool 4 ply 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
soft, looks beautiful, but have not knit this project yet. Next on my list.
By Cynthia Sedillo on Sep 02, 2011      (read Cynthia Sedillo's 12 other reviews) 8 out of 16 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 out of 5 stars (1 out of 5)
By S B on Jul 29, 2011      (read S B's 1 other review) 6 out of 22 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By SuzieB on Jul 20, 2011      (read SuzieB's 60 other reviews) 6 out of 19 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!