Plymouth DK Merino Superwash Yarn - 1111 Navy Reviews

Plymouth DK Merino Superwash Yarn - 1111 Navy
1111 Navy shown $7.00
The DK version of the oh so yummy Worsted Merino Superwash! You get the warmth of wool, plenty of yardage and the added benefit of machine washability!

$7.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 1111 Navy)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5
Physical Weight:
50g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Fine Merino Superwash Wool
US Needle:
6
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
130    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Machine Dyed
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  Peru
Put Up:
  Hank
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  High Energy
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall DK Merino Superwash Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (4.5 based on 11 reviews)

5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By Kathleen Lenkeit on Aug 29, 2015      (read Kathleen Lenkeit's 2 other reviews) 3 out of 6 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love this yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Plymouth Merino Superwash Yarn, in both the DK and Worsted weights, is a pleasure to knit with. I've made baby blankets with both weights, and when I wash them before gifting them, the blankets come out of the dryer so very soft and cuddly!
By Kathleen Lenkeit on Aug 17, 2015      (read Kathleen Lenkeit's 2 other reviews) 2 out of 10 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
A little disappointed 3 out of 5 stars (3 out of 5)
I had not even cast on a dozen stitches before I realized that this yarn was majorly splitty. And the plies don't marry themselves back together once you've corrected the split, leaving little snaggy bits behind. On the bright side, there's a nice sheen to the fabric it makes, and the yarn is springy. I'm slogging on with this sweater thank goodness it's for a small child, trying to be careful, and cussing a little, neither of which seems to help. I won't buy this yarn again.
By davamoor on Sep 09, 2014      (read davamoor's 6 other reviews) 12 out of 19 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lovely Machine Washable Yarn 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
I was rather wary about ordering a yarn that I had never seen before by the internet. Not sure whether the color would be right, concerned that it might unwind or have knots in odd places. Well, none of that happened. This is a lovely yarn that does not unwind, is smooth and velvety soft and it is almost exactly what I imagined when I saw it on my laptop--I had imagined it slightly lighter in tone. I'm making a baby carrier that has to be finished in November. The only down-side that I can think of is that my swatch did not conform to the needle size indicated, I am using a smaller needle--but that's me. I will be using this wool in the future and hope that all the other colors are as true as this pink.
By Rikka on Aug 25, 2014      (read Rikka's 1 other review) 14 out of 25 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Nice, but . . . 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
I've bought and used three different colorways in this yarn, and each time it's the same. Love the way the yarn feels and knits up dense, soft, squishy but there isn't enough of it to make a whole pair of women's large socks, so I have to use contrasting yarn for toes, heels and cuffs. Secondly, the yarn isn't long enough to give me a whole repeat. In other words, I can't make a matching pair, because I don't have the whole pattern unless I want to buy three balls of it. Anyway, the yellow is the only colorway left, and it's not very nice bought it and returned not same as on the listing.
By davamoor on Aug 19, 2014      (read davamoor's 6 other reviews) 11 out of 25 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Couldn't be more pleased! 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
A lovely yarn that's a joy to knit! No problems with splitting and no knots in the 5 skeins I've used. Finally a superwash that doesn't lose stitch definition or become limp and floppy after washing. It's very soft and has a springy texture that's perfect for baby items. I made a cardigan and was really impressed that the 1112 Red DID NOT bleed at all.
By capless on Jan 01, 2014      (read capless's 12 other reviews) 13 out of 23 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By BethRules on Mar 05, 2013      (read BethRules's 8 other reviews) 16 out of 27 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Very nice yarn 4 out of 5 stars (4 out of 5)
This yarn is very soft and springy. I used it for a toddler vest and the stockinette portion looked so lovely in this yarn. The only downside is that it splits a little bit, but not too badly.
By BethRules on Mar 05, 2013      (read BethRules's 8 other reviews) 10 out of 12 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Pirates outfit 5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
Just what I needed to finish grandson's pirate sweater
By nannym on Oct 30, 2012      (read nannym's 8 other reviews) 9 out of 20 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 out of 5 stars (5 out of 5)
By airynia on Jan 09, 2012      (read airynia's 4 other reviews) 14 out of 26 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!