Manos Del Uruguay Silk Blend Yarn - 3019 Dove Reviews

Manos Del Uruguay Silk Blend Yarn - 3019 Dove
3019 Dove shown $14.50
Manos Silk Blend is a luxurious blend of merino and silk. Hand dyed in large kettles to create a marbleized, subtly striated effect that forms a rich palette of glorious colors. No two skeins are exactly alike and there are no dye lots.

Manos yarn is hand dyed and hand wound by cooperatives in Uraguay. As with all hand dyed yarn, there can be variation in hue, even within the same dye batch. Please be aware that the basic winding technique used by the co-ops can result in up to a 2 gram variation in 50g hanks.

The Manos Cooperatives are a part of the World Fair Trade Organization and every hank of Manos yarn you purchase helps a woman in Uraguay support her family!

$14.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for 3019 Dove)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
5.5-6
Physical Weight:
50g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool  (view more)
Secondary Fiber:
Silk  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
70% Merino, 30% Silk
US Needle:
4-6
Washing Instructions:
Hand Wash  (view more)
Weight:
DK (21-24 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
150    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Silk Blend Rating: 4.5 out of 5 (4.5 based on 31 reviews)
soft and warm 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I love working with and wearing items made from this yarn. It is soft and warm. The patterns available for MDU's silk blend are great.
By Vicki L on Jan 28, 2014      (read Vicki L's 2 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By lionsfire on Dec 03, 2013      (read lionsfire's 11 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Amazingly beautiful yarn for fair isle 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I made a lovely fair isle tam with this wonderfully soft yarn. The colors are fabulous and blend beautifully. I'll be back for more to make a fair isle sweater!
By lionsfire on Dec 03, 2013      (read lionsfire's 11 other reviews) 0 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Lovely to use, watch the color carefully 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I've used this yarn many times and like it very much. It's important to remember though, that this yarn varies more from batch to batch than perhaps any other yarn I've used. The greatest variation I've seen is in color intensity--some skeins can be quite pale, while others have intense, gorgeous color. JBW of course, has no control over what they receive, but it may be worthwhile calling before ordering to get an idea of what they have in stock and what it looks like--especially if this is important to the particular project.
By MDTechWriter on Dec 03, 2013      (read MDTechWriter's 12 other reviews) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
3 out of 5 (3 out of 5)
By DPayne06 on Dec 01, 2013      (read DPayne06's 2 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By ssianis on Aug 12, 2013      (read ssianis's 1 other review) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Update to previous review 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
I purchased 3 skeins of this yarn in different colors. My previous review was after knitting with the first skein. The next 2 were perfect and had no knots. I think that the first skein with all the knots may not be the norm and would like to update my review.
By cath0903 on Dec 17, 2012      (read cath0903's 3 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
8 knots in 150 yard skein! 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
Love the color and it is very soft, but really! 8 knots!
By cath0903 on Dec 05, 2012      (read cath0903's 3 other reviews) 1 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By NatalieD on Nov 10, 2012      (read NatalieD's 3 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
So soft! 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
This yarn is very similar in texture to Malabrigo Silky Merino. It's very soft and warm you definitively want to knit or crochet something to wear around your neck with it. It seems prone to a lot of piling, so I don't think it'll be a good option for gloves or socks, but I can be wrong.
By cecile on Nov 09, 2012      (read cecile's 11 other reviews) 1 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!