Madelinetosh Tosh Vintage Short Skeins Yarn - French Grey Reviews

Madelinetosh Tosh Vintage Short Skeins Yarn - French Grey
French Grey shown
Sorry, but specific product you requested is not currently available. Hopefully you can find another option below.
*LIMITED EDITION* Grab these short skeins while you can! Once we're sold out, we're out.

Note: Dyed by hand in small batches, Madelinetosh yarns do not come in dye lots. We do our best to visually match hanks for each order and will contact you via email if one or more hanks differ noticeably from the others. The beauty of hand-dyed yarns is that each hank is a unique work of art, so please be aware that there can be a variation in coloring, hue and saturation, even within the same dye batch.

If you have any questions, give us a call or check out our videos on working with hand-dyed yarns!

Tosh Vintage Short Skeins are the same deliciously soft 100% superwash merino wool as regular Tosh Vintage -they're just 3 yards short of a normal skein! This scrumptious yarn works up at a versatile worsted gauge, making it perfect for hard-wearing sweater and accessory projects. Each squishy soft skein is hand-dyed in small dye lots and machine washable!

$19.50
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for French Grey)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5-5
Physical Weight:
100g
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Merino Wool
US Needle:
6-7
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)
Yardage:
197    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Construction:
  Plied
Dye Method:
  Hand Dyed
Eco:
  Ethically SourcedOrganic Dye
Feel:
  Squishy
Fiber Type:
  Mostly Animal
Origin:
  USA
Put Up:
  Skein
Sheen:
  Matte
Softness:
  Soft
Texture:
  Smooth / Uniform
Twist Energy:
  High Energy
▼ Show me more about this yarn
Overall Tosh Vintage Short Skeins Rating: 4.9 out of 5 (4.9 based on 17 reviews)

Love the skeins 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Love how they knit up and how my Sweater feels. My one downside is that my sweater pilled on the first time I wore it. I didn't wash it prior to wearing and Ravelry suggestions said I should try washing it to get rid of excess fiber I will try that and report back.
By Glacierflame on Nov 05, 2012      (read Glacierflame's 6 other reviews) 0 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Color! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Madeline Tosh has such wonderful rich color. I haven't knitted my Vintage yet, but the other Tosh yarns I've used have been lovely to knit with, made a beautiful product, and stood up to wear w/o pilling.
By Linda A on Jul 17, 2012      (read Linda A's 28 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Plump workhorse! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
No striping or pooling from this rounded, unfussy workhorse worsted from madtosh. It cables like a dream without splitting and washes well without excessive dye run-off. Perfect for those small accessories you know will go into the washing machine.
By NutmegOwl on Feb 29, 2012      (read NutmegOwl's 4 other reviews) 0 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love Madedlinetosh 's colorways 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Can't go wrong with the short skeins if you want to try out a colorway, just remember its sale yarn and can't be returned. As with hand-dyed yarn the colorway will probably be slightly off from the normal skein line. The color difference doesn't bother me, that's one of the reasons I love hand-dyeds.
By anon on Feb 28, 2012      (read anon's 36 other reviews) 0 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Tart 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
First time working with this. The ease with which it works-up, stitch definition, depth of color, structure of finished garment - PRIMO!!!! I crocheted a shawlette with this color and Duchess. The recipient is a cotton girl and was amazed that it was wool. No need for complication, the simplest garment will be quite elegant!
By Willow on Feb 21, 2012      (read Willow's 5 other reviews) 0 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Perfect for the price : 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This skein is only 10 yards shorter than a regular one, but 15% off!!! Perfect to knit a hat or a pair of gloves, and any other pattern where you know than you don't need a full skein. Maldelinetosh Vintage is great: perfect rich colors and incredible texture. It's my favorite yarn. It compares to Malabrigo Rios, but it's more tightly spun, creating an amazing stitch definition perfect for cable and lace. I LOVE IT!
By cecile on Feb 20, 2012      (read cecile's 11 other reviews) 0 out of 26 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Gorgeous rich color 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
Making the Guernsey Wrap by Jared Flood. This yarn is heaven in my hands and so easy to work with, which is what I needed to read the charts in the pattern! The color is so rich and slightly verigated. Once again, Jimmy Beans has made it so easy to order beautiful yarn! Love the club!
By Connie Wilson on Feb 18, 2012      (read Connie Wilson's 1 other review) 0 out of 4 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Love this yarn! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I absolutely love this yarn! It is so soft, knits up beautifully with great stitch definition, and feels so good in your hands. I will definitely be using this again.
By Relee66 on Feb 18, 2012      (read Relee66's 2 other reviews) 0 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Scrummy 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
This stuff is wonderful feeling and knits up with a wonderful stitch definition. I will draw attention to the fact that each skein is hand dyed, so you might get four that look about the same and one that is way more dark/light/unique color. If you can deal with that, this is a fabulous yarn.
By PoofyBirdy on Feb 14, 2012      (read PoofyBirdy's 2 other reviews) 0 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Madeleine Tosh Short 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Once again colors are vibrant and although 'short' skein it's still lovely.
By Mildred on Feb 06, 2012      (read Mildred's 12 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!