Lorna's Laces Solemate Yarn - Giddings Reviews

Lorna's Laces Solemate Yarn - Giddings
Giddings shown $27.00
Solemate is Lorna's latest amazing creation! A sock weight yarn that is made from 55% Superwash Merino, 15% Nylon and 30% Outlast, a fiber technology that continuously interacts with a body's microclimate to moderate temperature from being too hot or too cold. It was used by NASA. Ferrari uses it for their race car seats. Not only do you get this cutting edge technology, but it also comes in your favorite Lorna's hand-dyed color combinations! And don't forget that it is machine washable. Could you ask for anything else in a sock yarn?

Lorna's Laces has agreed to contribute a minimum of 5% of their gross profits from the sale of their Stitch Red product ('12 June - Stitch Red) to the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health in support of The Heart Truth® and women's heart health education and research.

$27.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for Giddings)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
7
Physical Weight:
100g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
Merino Wool  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
55% Superwash Merino, 15% Nylon, 30% Outlast
US Needle:
2
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Fingering (27-32 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
425    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Solemate Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 120 reviews)
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Leslie G on Apr 09, 2014      (read Leslie G's 16 other reviews) 2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
My favorite 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Leslie G on Apr 09, 2014      (read Leslie G's 16 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Always love working with LL and solemate is wonderful
By Kathy G on Apr 04, 2014      (read Kathy G's 18 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By housemouse on Mar 10, 2014      (read housemouse's 5 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
much improved! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I have some solemate yarn in my stash, purchased shortly after it first appeared on the market, and find that the yarn I recently purchased seems much silkier in feel than the earlier yarn. My Baltic Sea socks are fantastic! Highly recommend this yarn for socks.
By housemouse on Mar 10, 2014      (read housemouse's 5 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
a little bit more slick/smooth than the shepherd, but still a great yarn. has a bit of a sheen to it.
By kittyknits on Jan 18, 2014      (read kittyknits's 23 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Dr Ann S on Dec 27, 2013      (read Dr Ann S's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Beautiful colors. Wonderful texture when knitting!
By Dr Ann S on Dec 27, 2013      (read Dr Ann S's 2 other reviews) 0 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Disappointed 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
Easily my least favorite yarn in this weight/ply/fiber. I've never worked with yarn made up of merino wool I really should have payed more attention to the 55% that was so unpleasant to the touch. If the result of my work had been attractive I might have continued - but the color dye and something about the way it changes from one hue to another, in the end I wasted money, time, and am disappointed with such a highly rated yarn . I've decided on a softer yarn and now I'm left with a couple hanks of this ugly yarn. I doubt I'll ever gamble and purchase an unfamiliar yarn based on reviews again.
By hshar on Nov 28, 2013      (read hshar's 4 other reviews) 0 out of 3 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Disappointed with the color 2 out of 5 (2 out of 5)
I ordered Bigger on the Inside to make the Bigger on the Inside wrap from Knitty.com. The photos on Knitty.com show a royal blue wrap, and the photo on Jimmy Beans website looks royal blue the Tardis, which is the inspiration for the wrap is a bright royal blue. The yarn I received is NOT even close to what I expected - it's a dark blue, closer to a teal blue than a royal blue. I can't use it to knit the wrap, because it's the wrong color, and I feel like I've wasted a lot of money. When I figure out what to knit with this yarn, I may end up happy with it, but I suspect it will be part of my stash for quite some time.
By Steffers on Nov 03, 2013      (read Steffers's 1 other review) 1 out of 1 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!