Lorna's Laces Shepherd Worsted Yarn - River Reviews

Lorna's Laces Shepherd Worsted Yarn - River
River shown $21.00

Dressy or casual, children's clothes or adult apparel, last-minute gifts or home decor... the possibilities are endless with Shepherd Worsted! This glorious yarn has it all, from rich finger-pleasing texture to an elegant, even drape. Easy to work with and care for, this 100% superwash wool is incredibly soft with just a touch of silky shine. Eye-catching in dozens of fabulous solid and variegated hand-dyed colorways, Shepherd Worsted will fast become your favorite go-to yarn!

Limited Edition Colors: Available the 1st of each month... when they sell out, they sell out!



Lorna's Laces has agreed to contribute a minimum of 5% of their gross profits from the sale of their Stitch Red product ('12 June - Stitch Red) to the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health in support of The Heart Truth® and women's heart health education and research.


$21.00
Quantity:
Add this product to your own personal wish list! Notify me when additional quantities are available Questions about quantities available? 

Product Information (for River)

Gauge (sts. / inch):
4.5
Physical Weight:
113g  (view more)
Primary Fiber:
100% Wool  (view more)
Specific Fiber:
100% Superwash Wool
US Needle:
7
Washing Instructions:
Machine Wash  (view more)
Weight:
Worsted (19-20 sts/4 in)  (view more)
Yardage:
225    Knitting Calculator  View Knitting Calculator
Write Reviews Write a Review - Help your fellow crocheters and knitters by writing a review!
Overall Shepherd Worsted Rating: 4.8 out of 5 (4.8 based on 259 reviews)
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By MamaSue on Jan 27, 2015      (read MamaSue's 4 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Enjoyable to knit with 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
The yarn has a soft and springy hand and is easy on your hands. It knits up into a very springy and soft, warm fabric. You may want to knit this yarn with a slightly duller set of needles as it does like to split a little, but overall it's one I'd definitely buy again!
By amethystrose1 on Jan 26, 2015      (read amethystrose1's 15 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By reydruns on Jan 26, 2015      (read reydruns's 2 other reviews) No comments on this review yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Lovely colors! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
Really pleased with the excellent Jimmy Beans service and this yarn. It knits up beautifully and the twist is fairly firm, but the yarn is soft and easy to handle. Stitch definition is excellent, and the colors in the Christmas in Paris colorway make for a lovely sweater. Definitely would purchase this again!
By amethystrose1 on Jan 06, 2015      (read amethystrose1's 15 other reviews) 3 out of 5 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By Brenda Monson on Jan 05, 2015      (read Brenda Monson's 8 other reviews) 4 out of 7 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
By JennN on Dec 30, 2014      (read JennN's 10 other reviews) 7 out of 13 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
A lovely yarn! 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
I purchased this yarn in the Farwell colorway to test swatch and received the Christmas in Paris LE colorway as a gift to make a sweater. My yarn was shipped very promptly and well-packed. The yarn's plies are moderately to tightly spun some areas are a little looser, but overall the spin and ply is good with little or no splitting. The yarn has very good stitch definition and bounce and the wool is soft and easy on your hands - no scratchiness. The Farwell colorway I tested did bleed some color when I gave it a soak and a block, but the color stayed very bright and the yarn stayed soft. I'm very happily knitting my gift and looking forward to a new sweater!
By amethystrose1 on Dec 28, 2014      (read amethystrose1's 15 other reviews) 7 out of 15 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Wild turkey flys into my basket 5 out of 5 (5 out of 5)
LOVE the wild turkey - the color is awesome and I am making a Brickless as we speak.
By Melody Bryan on Dec 19, 2014      (read Melody Bryan's 3 other reviews) 4 out of 9 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Don't buy from Jimmy Beans, try Webs 1 out of 5 (1 out of 5)
Jimmy Beans said it was in stock, I made my order and it never arrived. Cancelled order after 18 days of waiting
By Karen from PA on Nov 24, 2014      (read Karen from PA's 4 other reviews) 14 out of 26 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
Bold Red bleeding issue 4 out of 5 (4 out of 5)
This is probably the 4th project I've made with this yarn. I love the colors and the softness. It's a nice yarn to work with, and I know I'll be back for more. However, I just finished a sleep sack and Santa hat for a new baby due in December, and made these in conjunction with a white yarn. The Bold Red bled quite a lot when I was in the process of blocking it. I was able to rinse the color out of the white edging, but the bleeding was quite severe. It is still a nice yarn, and I will likely buy more, but perhaps not this color. Be aware of this issue when planning your project.
By Clair on Nov 09, 2014      (read Clair's 2 other reviews) 41 out of 70 found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Feedback saved!
We provide Endless Possibilities® for you including yarn, knitting gifts, needles, kits, sale yarn, free knitting patterns, and more!